Names of Jesus – Day 21 – Carpenter


Is this picture too precious or what? What a beautiful depiction of the Lord’s mission on earth! It goes well with today’s name of Jesus – Carpenter!

~Mark 6:3 Is not this the carpenter, the son of Mary, the brother of James, and Joses, and of Juda, and Simon? and are not his sisters here with us? And they were offended at him.

We can assume that Joseph taught Jesus the carpenter trade as a child. I can see Jesus playing beside Joseph’s workbench, can’t you? As He matured into a teenager, I can see Him working side-by-side with Joseph to earn a living for the family. Jesus used His carpentry skills in His teachings.

~Matthew 7:24-27 Therefore whosoever heareth these sayings of mine, and doeth them, I will liken him unto a wise man, which built his house upon a rock: (24) And the rain descended, and the floods came, and the winds blew, and beat upon that house; and it fell not: for it was founded upon a rock. (25) And every one that heareth these sayings of mine, and doeth them not, shall be likened unto a foolish man, which built his house upon the sand: (26) And the rain descended, and the floods came, and the winds blew, and beat upon that house; and it fell: and great was the fall of it. (27)

Notice that Jesus said whoever hears His words and heeds His words is building his faith upon the Rock. The Carpenter knows how to build a house and He also knows what type of foundation is best. Christ likened our faith in Him as one who builds his house upon a rock. That house is solid and is unshakable – even when the rains came, the floods came and the winds blew! Now that’s a solid house! When we liken this visual picture to our own spiritual lives, we must ask ourselves if our faith in Christ is as unshakeable. Are you certain of your faith? Are you certain that you are going to Heaven when you die? Are you certain beyond a shadow of a doubt? Be honest with yourself. The Word says,

~1 Corinthians 10:4 And did all drink the same spiritual drink: for they drank of that spiritual Rock that followed them: and that Rock was Christ.

Jesus Christ is the Rock on which we must build our house of faith! As a catholic, I build my faith on the catholic church. I had always been taught that Peter is this rock. However, this is contrary to many Scriptures. When the Scriptures contradict a religious belief, one must make a decision for one’s self. Do I believe God’s Holy Word or do I believe what I have been taught by my religious leaders?

Our Carpenter, Jesus Christ, longs to help us build our house of faith, my friend. He longs for us to build it upon Him.

~John 5:39-40 Search the scriptures; for in them ye think ye have eternal life: and they are they which testify of me. (39) And ye will not come to me, that ye might have life. (40)

Won’t you search the Word of God and learn from the Great Carpenter how to build your house of faith upon the Rock?

~Matthew 11:28-30 Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. ( 28 ) Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. (29) For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light. (30)

Christ’s salvation does not involve burdens. I had a heavy burden of sin upon my shoulders as a catholic. The catholic church never removed my heavy burden. But the day I truly met the Carpenter, He took that burden completely away. With no exaggeration, I felt a hundred pounds lighter the moment I accepted Christ as my Saviour according to the Scriptures. I repented of my sins and changed direction in my life. It was at this point that I began to build my house of faith upon the Rock as my Carpenter taught me in His Word! Praise the God of Glory and Mercy!

The Baptist Muse Topsites The Forums at The Baptist Muse - Independent Fundamental Baptist Articles, Downloads, Forums, Topsites, and Much More! The Fundamental Top 500 The Baptist Top 1000