Reflections in Psalms – Day 16 – Find Me


Psalm 105:1-5

O give thanks unto the Lord; call upon his name: make known his deeds among the people. 2 Sing unto him, sing psalms unto him: talk ye of all his wondrous works. 3 Glory ye in his holy name: let the heart of them rejoice that seek the Lord. 4 Seek the Lord, and his strength: seek his face evermore. 5 Remember his marvellous works that he hath done; his wonders, and the judgments of his mouth;

I discovered that this Psalm is one of the Hallelujah Psalms. Toward the end of David’s life, more and more of his psalms praised the Lord. Did you know that the word hallelujah is the same word in every language? We may all have a different tongue but we can all sing hallelujah together! Amen?

I absolutely love this particular Psalm. Just in the first five verses, the Lord has taught me much! He has taught me how to worship and praise Him.

  • Give thanks – ~1 Thessalonians 5:18 In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.
  • Call upon His name – ~Psalms 50:15 And call upon me in the day of trouble: I will deliver thee, and thou shalt glorify me.
  • Make known His deeds – ~Ephesians 6:18-20 Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints;19 And for me, that utterance may be given unto me, that I may open my mouth boldly, to make known the mystery of the gospel, 20 For which I am an ambassador in bonds: that therein I may speak boldly, as I ought to speak.
  • Sing unto Him – ~Isaiah 12:5 Sing unto the Lord; for he hath done excellent things: this is known in all the earth.
  • Talk of His wondrous works – ~Job 37:14 Hearken unto this, O Job: stand still, and consider the wondrous works of God.
  • Glory in His name – ~1 Chronicles 16:10 Glory ye in his holy name: let the heart of them rejoice that seek the Lord.
  • Rejoice – ~Psalms 70:4-5 Let all those that seek thee rejoice and be glad in thee: and let such as love thy salvation say continually, Let God be magnified. 5 But I am poor and needy: make haste unto me, O God: thou art my help and my deliverer; O Lord, make no tarrying.
  • Seek the Lord, His strength and His face – ~1 Chronicles 16:11 Seek the Lord and his strength, seek his face continually.
    1 Chron 16:11
  • Remember Remember Remember – Where do I find all my material to do the above? David says to “remember, remember, remember”!

    Remember His marvellous works, His wonders and the judgments of His mouth. Three things perfectly outline what I can meditate on so I do not forget.The Old Testament is a beautiful history book filled with wonderful and marvellous works that God has done for His chosen people. I think of the 10 plagues – the parting of the Red Sea – the destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah. My goodness, each of these accounts are packed with history, teaching and examples for me. And this is only three accounts!

    I must also remember His wonders. Just looking at His creation speaks volumes to me. I gaze into the night sky and feel very very small in comparison to the countless stars above me. Then I observe the inner ear and its intricate tiny structure! How amazing! I can go to the sidewinder snake and see how God provides its favorite food, the gecko. The gecko is much too fast for the snake so the snake buries himself in the desert sand and leaves only the tip of its tail sticking out. This attracts ants looking for grass. As the ants explore, the gecko shows up looking for his favorite food, the ant. Now the sidewinder snake gets his favorite meal at the hand of the Lord! There are countless other wonders, too many to document, but they are there for me to glean from and this prepares my heart for worship.

    Lastly, remember the spoken words of God. God spoke these words and they are penned in His Bible. We are without excuse as we have exactly what we need for every area of our lives given to us by a perfect God. His salvation is clearly outlined from the first pages of Genesis all the way to the last pages of Revelation. His mercy is great. His compassion fails not. He is the Mighty King and Lord of Lords!

    These three areas give us all that we need to worship and praise our Heavenly Father!

All we must do to start is to seek Him. He will take care of the rest! Praise Your Holy Name!

~Jeremiah 29:11-14a For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end. 12 Then shall ye call upon me, and ye shall go and pray unto me, and I will hearken unto you. 13 And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart. 14 And I will be found of you, saith the Lord: