Day 19


Psalm 19

Psa 19:1 [To the chief Musician, A Psalm of David.] The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork.
Psa 19:2 Day unto day uttereth speech, and night unto night sheweth knowledge.
Psa 19:3 There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard.
Psa 19:4 Their line is gone out through all the earth, and their words to the end of the world. In them hath he set a tabernacle for the sun,
Psa 19:5 Which is as a bridegroom coming out of his chamber, and rejoiceth as a strong man to run a race.
Psa 19:6 His going forth is from the end of the heaven, and his circuit unto the ends of it: and there is nothing hid from the heat thereof.
Psa 19:7 The law of the LORD is perfect, converting the soul: the testimony of the LORD is sure, making wise the simple.
Psa 19:8 The statutes of the LORD are right, rejoicing the heart: the commandment of the LORD is pure, enlightening the eyes.
Psa 19:9 The fear of the LORD is clean, enduring for ever: the judgments of the LORD are true and righteous altogether.
Psa 19:10 More to be desired are they than gold, yea, than much fine gold: sweeter also than honey and the honeycomb.
Psa 19:11 Moreover by them is thy servant warned: and in keeping of them there is great reward.
Psa 19:12 Who can understand his errors? cleanse thou me from secret faults.
Psa 19:13 Keep back thy servant also from presumptuous sins; let them not have dominion over me: then shall I be upright, and I shall be innocent from the great transgression.
Psa 19:14 Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer.

Psalm 49

Psa 49:1 [To the chief Musician, A Psalm for the sons of Korah.] Hear this, all ye people; give ear, all ye inhabitants of the world:
Psa 49:2 Both low and high, rich and poor, together.
Psa 49:3 My mouth shall speak of wisdom; and the meditation of my heart shall be of understanding.
Psa 49:4 I will incline mine ear to a parable: I will open my dark saying upon the harp.
Psa 49:5 Wherefore should I fear in the days of evil, when the iniquity of my heels shall compass me about?
Psa 49:6 They that trust in their wealth, and boast themselves in the multitude of their riches;
Psa 49:7 None of them can by any means redeem his brother, nor give to God a ransom for him: Psa 49:8 (For the redemption of their soul is precious, and it ceaseth for ever:)
Psa 49:9 That he should still live for ever, and not see corruption.
Psa 49:10 For he seeth that wise men die, likewise the fool and the brutish person perish, and leave their wealth to others.
Psa 49:11 Their inward thought is, that their houses shall continue for ever, and their dwelling places to all generations; they call their lands after their own names.
Psa 49:12 Nevertheless man being in honour abideth not: he is like the beasts that perish.
Psa 49:13 This their way is their folly: yet their posterity approve their sayings. Selah.
Psa 49:14 Like sheep they are laid in the grave; death shall feed on them; and the upright shall have dominion over them in the morning; and their beauty shall consume in the grave from their dwelling.
Psa 49:15 But God will redeem my soul from the power of the grave: for he shall receive me. Selah.
Psa 49:16 Be not thou afraid when one is made rich, when the glory of his house is increased;
Psa 49:17 For when he dieth he shall carry nothing away: his glory shall not descend after him.
Psa 49:18 Though while he lived he blessed his soul: and men will praise thee, when thou doest well to thyself.
Psa 49:19 He shall go to the generation of his fathers; they shall never see light.
Psa 49:20 Man that is in honour, and understandeth not, is like the beasts that perish.

Psalm 79

Psa 79:1 [A Psalm of Asaph.] O God, the heathen are come into thine inheritance; thy holy temple have they defiled; they have laid Jerusalem on heaps.
Psa 79:2 The dead bodies of thy servants have they given to be meat unto the fowls of the heaven, the flesh of thy saints unto the beasts of the earth.
Psa 79:3 Their blood have they shed like water round about Jerusalem; and there was none to bury them.
Psa 79:4 We are become a reproach to our neighbours, a scorn and derision to them that are round about us.
Psa 79:5 How long, LORD? wilt thou be angry for ever? shall thy jealousy burn like fire?
Psa 79:6 Pour out thy wrath upon the heathen that have not known thee, and upon the kingdoms that have not called upon thy name.
Psa 79:7 For they have devoured Jacob, and laid waste his dwelling place.
Psa 79:8 O remember not against us former iniquities: let thy tender mercies speedily prevent us: for we are brought very low.
Psa 79:9 Help us, O God of our salvation, for the glory of thy name: and deliver us, and purge away our sins, for thy name’s sake.
Psa 79:10 Wherefore should the heathen say, Where is their God? let him be known among the heathen in our sight by the revenging of the blood of thy servants which is shed.
Psa 79:11 Let the sighing of the prisoner come before thee; according to the greatness of thy power preserve thou those that are appointed to die;
Psa 79:12 And render unto our neighbours sevenfold into their bosom their reproach, wherewith they have reproached thee, O Lord.
Psa 79:13 So we thy people and sheep of thy pasture will give thee thanks for ever: we will shew forth thy praise to all generations.

Psalm 109

Psa 109:1 [To the chief Musician, A Psalm of David.] Hold not thy peace, O God of my praise;
Psa 109:2 For the mouth of the wicked and the mouth of the deceitful are opened against me: they have spoken against me with a lying tongue.
Psa 109:3 They compassed me about also with words of hatred; and fought against me without a cause.
Psa 109:4 For my love they are my adversaries: but I give myself unto prayer.
Psa 109:5 And they have rewarded me evil for good, and hatred for my love.
Psa 109:6 Set thou a wicked man over him: and let Satan stand at his right hand.
Psa 109:7 When he shall be judged, let him be condemned: and let his prayer become sin.
Psa 109:8 Let his days be few; and let another take his office.
Psa 109:9 Let his children be fatherless, and his wife a widow.
Psa 109:10 Let his children be continually vagabonds, and beg: let them seek their bread also out of their desolate places.
Psa 109:11 Let the extortioner catch all that he hath; and let the strangers spoil his labour.
Psa 109:12 Let there be none to extend mercy unto him: neither let there be any to favour his fatherless children.
Psa 109:13 Let his posterity be cut off; and in the generation following let their name be blotted out.
Psa 109:14 Let the iniquity of his fathers be remembered with the LORD; and let not the sin of his mother be blotted out.
Psa 109:15 Let them be before the LORD continually, that he may cut off the memory of them from the earth.
Psa 109:16 Because that he remembered not to shew mercy, but persecuted the poor and needy man, that he might even slay the broken in heart.
Psa 109:17 As he loved cursing, so let it come unto him: as he delighted not in blessing, so let it be far from him.
Psa 109:18 As he clothed himself with cursing like as with his garment, so let it come into his bowels like water, and like oil into his bones.
Psa 109:19 Let it be unto him as the garment which covereth him, and for a girdle wherewith he is girded continually.
Psa 109:20 Let this be the reward of mine adversaries from the LORD, and of them that speak evil against my soul.
Psa 109:21 But do thou for me, O GOD the Lord, for thy name’s sake: because thy mercy is good, deliver thou me.
Psa 109:22 For I am poor and needy, and my heart is wounded within me.
Psa 109:23 I am gone like the shadow when it declineth: I am tossed up and down as the locust.
Psa 109:24 My knees are weak through fasting; and my flesh faileth of fatness.
Psa 109:25 I became also a reproach unto them: when they looked upon me they shaked their heads.
Psa 109:26 Help me, O LORD my God: O save me according to thy mercy:
Psa 109:27 That they may know that this is thy hand; that thou, LORD, hast done it.
Psa 109:28 Let them curse, but bless thou: when they arise, let them be ashamed; but let thy servant rejoice.
Psa 109:29 Let mine adversaries be clothed with shame, and let them cover themselves with their own confusion, as with a mantle.
Psa 109:30 I will greatly praise the LORD with my mouth; yea, I will praise him among the multitude.
Psa 109:31 For he shall stand at the right hand of the poor, to save him from those that condemn his soul.

Psalm 139

Psa 139:1 [To the chief Musician, A Psalm of David.] O LORD, thou hast searched me, and known me.
Psa 139:2 Thou knowest my downsitting and mine uprising, thou understandest my thought afar off.
Psa 139:3 Thou compassest my path and my lying down, and art acquainted with all my ways.
Psa 139:4 For there is not a word in my tongue, but, lo, O LORD, thou knowest it altogether.
Psa 139:5 Thou hast beset me behind and before, and laid thine hand upon me.
Psa 139:6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high, I cannot attain unto it.
Psa 139:7 Whither shall I go from thy spirit? or whither shall I flee from thy presence?
Psa 139:8 If I ascend up into heaven, thou art there: if I make my bed in hell, behold, thou art there.
Psa 139:9 If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea;
Psa 139:10 Even there shall thy hand lead me, and thy right hand shall hold me.
Psa 139:11 If I say, Surely the darkness shall cover me; even the night shall be light about me.
Psa 139:12 Yea, the darkness hideth not from thee; but the night shineth as the day: the darkness and the light are both alike to thee.
Psa 139:13 For thou hast possessed my reins: thou hast covered me in my mother’s womb.
Psa 139:14 I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well.
Psa 139:15 My substance was not hid from thee, when I was made in secret, and curiously wrought in the lowest parts of the earth.
Psa 139:16 Thine eyes did see my substance, yet being unperfect; and in thy book all my members were written, which in continuance were fashioned, when as yet there was none of them.
Psa 139:17 How precious also are thy thoughts unto me, O God! how great is the sum of them!
Psa 139:18 If I should count them, they are more in number than the sand: when I awake, I am still with thee.
Psa 139:19 Surely thou wilt slay the wicked, O God: depart from me therefore, ye bloody men.
Psa 139:20 For they speak against thee wickedly, and thine enemies take thy name in vain.
Psa 139:21 Do not I hate them, O LORD, that hate thee? and am not I grieved with those that rise up against thee?
Psa 139:22 I hate them with perfect hatred: I count them mine enemies.
Psa 139:23 Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts:
Psa 139:24 And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

Psalm 119:145-152

Psa 119:145 KOPH. I cried with my whole heart; hear me, O LORD: I will keep thy statutes.
Psa 119:146 I cried unto thee; save me, and I shall keep thy testimonies.
Psa 119:147 I prevented the dawning of the morning, and cried: I hoped in thy word.
Psa 119:148 Mine eyes prevent the night watches, that I might meditate in thy word.
Psa 119:149 Hear my voice according unto thy lovingkindness: O LORD, quicken me according to thy judgment.
Psa 119:150 They draw nigh that follow after mischief: they are far from thy law.
Psa 119:151 Thou art near, O LORD; and all thy commandments are truth.
Psa 119:152 Concerning thy testimonies, I have known of old that thou hast founded them for ever.

Proverbs 19

Pro 19:1 Better is the poor that walketh in his integrity, than he that is perverse in his lips, and is a fool.
Pro 19:2 Also, that the soul be without knowledge, it is not good; and he that hasteth with his feet sinneth.
Pro 19:3 The foolishness of man perverteth his way: and his heart fretteth against the LORD.
Pro 19:4 Wealth maketh many friends; but the poor is separated from his neighbour.
Pro 19:5 A false witness shall not be unpunished, and he that speaketh lies shall not escape.
Pro 19:6 Many will intreat the favour of the prince: and every man is a friend to him that giveth gifts.
Pro 19:7 All the brethren of the poor do hate him: how much more do his friends go far from him? he pursueth them with words, yet they are wanting to him.
Pro 19:8 He that getteth wisdom loveth his own soul: he that keepeth understanding shall find good.
Pro 19:9 A false witness shall not be unpunished, and he that speaketh lies shall perish.
Pro 19:10 Delight is not seemly for a fool; much less for a servant to have rule over princes.
Pro 19:11 The discretion of a man deferreth his anger; and it is his glory to pass over a transgression.
Pro 19:12 The king’s wrath is as the roaring of a lion; but his favour is as dew upon the grass.
Pro 19:13 A foolish son is the calamity of his father: and the contentions of a wife are a continual dropping.
Pro 19:14 House and riches are the inheritance of fathers: and a prudent wife is from the LORD. Pro 19:15 Slothfulness casteth into a deep sleep; and an idle soul shall suffer hunger.
Pro 19:16 He that keepeth the commandment keepeth his own soul; but he that despiseth his ways shall die.
Pro 19:17 He that hath pity upon the poor lendeth unto the LORD; and that which he hath given will he pay him again.
Pro 19:18 Chasten thy son while there is hope, and let not thy soul spare for his crying.
Pro 19:19 A man of great wrath shall suffer punishment: for if thou deliver him, yet thou must do it again.
Pro 19:20 Hear counsel, and receive instruction, that thou mayest be wise in thy latter end.
Pro 19:21 There are many devices in a man’s heart; nevertheless the counsel of the LORD, that shall stand.
Pro 19:22 The desire of a man is his kindness: and a poor man is better than a liar.
Pro 19:23 The fear of the LORD tendeth to life: and he that hath it shall abide satisfied; he shall not be visited with evil.
Pro 19:24 A slothful man hideth his hand in his bosom, and will not so much as bring it to his mouth again.
Pro 19:25 Smite a scorner, and the simple will beware: and reprove one that hath understanding, and he will understand knowledge.
Pro 19:26 He that wasteth his father, and chaseth away his mother, is a son that causeth shame, and bringeth reproach.
Pro 19:27 Cease, my son, to hear the instruction that causeth to err from the words of knowledge.
Pro 19:28 An ungodly witness scorneth judgment: and the mouth of the wicked devoureth iniquity.
Pro 19:29 Judgments are prepared for scorners, and stripes for the back of fools.

Acts 19

Act 19:1 And it came to pass, that, while Apollos was at Corinth, Paul having passed through the upper coasts came to Ephesus: and finding certain disciples,
Act 19:2 He said unto them, Have ye received the Holy Ghost since ye believed? And they said unto him, We have not so much as heard whether there be any Holy Ghost.
Act 19:3 And he said unto them, Unto what then were ye baptized? And they said, Unto John’s baptism.
Act 19:4 Then said Paul, John verily baptized with the baptism of repentance, saying unto the people, that they should believe on him which should come after him, that is, on Christ Jesus.
Act 19:5 When they heard this, they were baptized in the name of the Lord Jesus.
Act 19:6 And when Paul had laid his hands upon them, the Holy Ghost came on them; and they spake with tongues, and prophesied.
Act 19:7 And all the men were about twelve.
Act 19:8 And he went into the synagogue, and spake boldly for the space of three months, disputing and persuading the things concerning the kingdom of God.
Act 19:9 But when divers were hardened, and believed not, but spake evil of that way before the multitude, he departed from them, and separated the disciples, disputing daily in the school of one Tyrannus.
Act 19:10 And this continued by the space of two years; so that all they which dwelt in Asia heard the word of the Lord Jesus, both Jews and Greeks.
Act 19:11 And God wrought special miracles by the hands of Paul:
Act 19:12 So that from his body were brought unto the sick handkerchiefs or aprons, and the diseases departed from them, and the evil spirits went out of them.
Act 19:13 Then certain of the vagabond Jews, exorcists, took upon them to call over them which had evil spirits the name of the Lord Jesus, saying, We adjure you by Jesus whom Paul preacheth.
Act 19:14 And there were seven sons of one Sceva, a Jew, and chief of the priests, which did so.
Act 19:15 And the evil spirit answered and said, Jesus I know, and Paul I know; but who are ye?
Act 19:16 And the man in whom the evil spirit was leaped on them, and overcame them, and prevailed against them, so that they fled out of that house naked and wounded.
Act 19:17 And this was known to all the Jews and Greeks also dwelling at Ephesus; and fear fell on them all, and the name of the Lord Jesus was magnified.
Act 19:18 And many that believed came, and confessed, and shewed their deeds.
Act 19:19 Many of them also which used curious arts brought their books together, and burned them before all men: and they counted the price of them, and found it fifty thousand pieces of silver.
Act 19:20 So mightily grew the word of God and prevailed.
Act 19:21 After these things were ended, Paul purposed in the spirit, when he had passed through Macedonia and Achaia, to go to Jerusalem, saying, After I have been there, I must also see Rome.
Act 19:22 So he sent into Macedonia two of them that ministered unto him, Timotheus and Erastus; but he himself stayed in Asia for a season.
Act 19:23 And the same time there arose no small stir about that way.
Act 19:24 For a certain man named Demetrius, a silversmith, which made silver shrines for Diana, brought no small gain unto the craftsmen;
Act 19:25 Whom he called together with the workmen of like occupation, and said, Sirs, ye know that by this craft we have our wealth.
Act 19:26 Moreover ye see and hear, that not alone at Ephesus, but almost throughout all Asia, this Paul hath persuaded and turned away much people, saying that they be no gods, which are made with hands:
Act 19:27 So that not only this our craft is in danger to be set at nought; but also that the temple of the great goddess Diana should be despised, and her magnificence should be destroyed, whom all Asia and the world worshippeth.
Act 19:28 And when they heard these sayings, they were full of wrath, and cried out, saying, Great is Diana of the Ephesians.
Act 19:29 And the whole city was filled with confusion: and having caught Gaius and Aristarchus, men of Macedonia, Paul’s companions in travel, they rushed with one accord into the theatre.
Act 19:30 And when Paul would have entered in unto the people, the disciples suffered him not.
Act 19:31 And certain of the chief of Asia, which were his friends, sent unto him, desiring him that he would not adventure himself into the theatre.
Act 19:32 Some therefore cried one thing, and some another: for the assembly was confused; and the more part knew not wherefore they were come together.
Act 19:33 And they drew Alexander out of the multitude, the Jews putting him forward. And Alexander beckoned with the hand, and would have made his defence unto the people.
Act 19:34 But when they knew that he was a Jew, all with one voice about the space of two hours cried out, Great is Diana of the Ephesians.
Act 19:35 And when the townclerk had appeased the people, he said, Ye men of Ephesus, what man is there that knoweth not how that the city of the Ephesians is a worshipper of the great goddess Diana, and of the image which fell down from Jupiter?
Act 19:36 Seeing then that these things cannot be spoken against, ye ought to be quiet, and to do nothing rashly.
Act 19:37 For ye have brought hither these men, which are neither robbers of churches, nor yet blasphemers of your goddess.
Act 19:38 Wherefore if Demetrius, and the craftsmen which are with him, have a matter against any man, the law is open, and there are deputies: let them implead one another.
Act 19:39 But if ye enquire any thing concerning other matters, it shall be determined in a lawful assembly.
Act 19:40 For we are in danger to be called in question for this day’s uproar, there being no cause whereby we may give an account of this concourse.
Act 19:41 And when he had thus spoken, he dismissed the assembly.

Revelations 19

Rev 19:1 And after these things I heard a great voice of much people in heaven, saying, Alleluia; Salvation, and glory, and honour, and power, unto the Lord our God:
Rev 19:2 For true and righteous are his judgments: for he hath judged the great whore, which did corrupt the earth with her fornication, and hath avenged the blood of his servants at her hand.
Rev 19:3 And again they said, Alleluia. And her smoke rose up for ever and ever.
Rev 19:4 And the four and twenty elders and the four beasts fell down and worshipped God that sat on the throne, saying, Amen; Alleluia.
Rev 19:5 And a voice came out of the throne, saying, Praise our God, all ye his servants, and ye that fear him, both small and great.
Rev 19:6 And I heard as it were the voice of a great multitude, and as the voice of many waters, and as the voice of mighty thunderings, saying, Alleluia: for the Lord God omnipotent reigneth.
Rev 19:7 Let us be glad and rejoice, and give honour to him: for the marriage of the Lamb is come, and his wife hath made herself ready.
Rev 19:8 And to her was granted that she should be arrayed in fine linen, clean and white: for the fine linen is the righteousness of saints.
Rev 19:9 And he saith unto me, Write, Blessed are they which are called unto the marriage supper of the Lamb. And he saith unto me, These are the true sayings of God.
Rev 19:10 And I fell at his feet to worship him. And he said unto me, See thou do it not: I am thy fellowservant, and of thy brethren that have the testimony of Jesus: worship God: for the testimony of Jesus is the spirit of prophecy.
Rev 19:11 And I saw heaven opened, and behold a white horse; and he that sat upon him was called Faithful and True, and in righteousness he doth judge and make war.
Rev 19:12 His eyes were as a flame of fire, and on his head were many crowns; and he had a name written, that no man knew, but he himself.
Rev 19:13 And he was clothed with a vesture dipped in blood: and his name is called The Word of God.
Rev 19:14 And the armies which were in heaven followed him upon white horses, clothed in fine linen, white and clean.
Rev 19:15 And out of his mouth goeth a sharp sword, that with it he should smite the nations: and he shall rule them with a rod of iron: and he treadeth the winepress of the fierceness and wrath of Almighty God.
Rev 19:16 And he hath on his vesture and on his thigh a name written, KING OF KINGS, AND LORD OF LORDS.
Rev 19:17 And I saw an angel standing in the sun; and he cried with a loud voice, saying to all the fowls that fly in the midst of heaven, Come and gather yourselves together unto the supper of the great God;
Rev 19:18 That ye may eat the flesh of kings, and the flesh of captains, and the flesh of mighty men, and the flesh of horses, and of them that sit on them, and the flesh of all men, both free and bond, both small and great.
Rev 19:19 And I saw the beast, and the kings of the earth, and their armies, gathered together to make war against him that sat on the horse, and against his army.
Rev 19:20 And the beast was taken, and with him the false prophet that wrought miracles before him, with which he deceived them that had received the mark of the beast, and them that worshipped his image. These both were cast alive into a lake of fire burning with brimstone.
Rev 19:21 And the remnant were slain with the sword of him that sat upon the horse, which sword proceeded out of his mouth: and all the fowls were filled with their flesh.

Day 1 – To Be Single or Not to Be Single?


Is it your desire to be single or married? That is a question every young person asks themselves. But for the Christian, this question is even weightier. Unlike what the world believes, marriage is forever. The world would have you to believe that it’s OK for a Christian to be divorced and remarried, but God’s Word says differently. And he saith unto them, Whosoever shall put away his wife, and marry another, committeth adultery against her. (Mar 10:11) And if a woman shall put away her husband, and be married to another, she committeth adultery. (Mar 10:12)

This month, we will discuss what the Word has to say about being single, dating, being engaged, marriage, divorce and remarriage. God instructs His people quite clearly, although man has added his own teaching and opinion. This was true even in Moses’ time. Marriage is so serious and so permanent that God put it in the Ten Commandments. Thou shalt not commit adultery. (Exo 20:14) …thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s wife…(Exo 20:17) Also, fornication (which is sex before marriage) was spoken of 28 times in the New Testament alone! Just because the Ten Commandments are in the Old Testament, it does not mean that we are not obligated to follow them. God thinks purity before marriage is just as important as fidelity after marriage, my friend.

The Law (the Ten Commandments) show us our sin. Once we acknowledge our sin before a Holy God, we are pointed to a need for a Saviour through our Lord Jesus Christ. When it comes to finding out how to living a godly single life as a believer, the Word says it best. Here are some good verses to ponder:

Now concerning the things whereof ye wrote unto me: It is good for a man not to touch a woman. (1 Cor 7:1) and vice-versa.Nevertheless, to avoid fornication, let every man have his own wife, and let every woman have her own husband. (1 Cor 7:2)For I would that all men were even as I myself. But every man hath his proper gift of God, one after this manner, and another after that. (1 Cor 7:7) Not everyone is called of God to remain single. But for those who are single, God’s Word says it is “do-able” through Christ.

I say therefore to the unmarried and widows, It is good for them if they abide even as I. (1 Cor 7:8)

But if they cannot contain, let them marry: for it is better to marry than to burn. (1 Cor 7:9) Notice how serious Paul says it is here? Fornication for the single person will cause him to burn! The sins from the Old Testament are alive and well in the New Testament. God views fornication as sin and deals with it severely!

But I would have you without carefulness. He that is unmarried careth for the things that belong to the Lord, how he may please the Lord: (1 Cor 7:32)But he that is married careth for the things that are of the world, how he may please his wife. (1 Cor 7:33)There is difference also between a wife and a virgin. The unmarried woman careth for the things of the Lord, that she may be holy both in body and in spirit: but she that is married careth for the things of the world, how she may please her husband. (1 Cor 7:34)

Paul said it was good to be single. However, one should be married in order to avoid fornication. Paul encouraged the believer to remain single because when one is single they can care for the things of the Lord and not of the world. A single person does not have to worry about staying out longer on his bus route or soul winning. A single person does not have to check with his spouse if he wants to go straight to a Bible study after work.

Being chaste and pure in today’s world is certainly a battle. To win this battle means the Christian must be totally devoted to the cause of Christ and walking closely beside Him. Being pure is do-able, my friend! The world would have you think that the Christian cannot contain himself. The world would have you think that there is no way you can abstain from fornication. The Word heals all things and the Word will keep the single Christian on the right path if the single Christian turns to it. You’ve heard the saying, “The Bible will keep you from sin and sin will keep you from the Bible.” There is not a truer statement.

One of the major hurdles a single Christian today must overcome is controlling their thought life. It’s the mind that sets the groundwork for sin. When we nurture a lustful thought and dwell on it, you can be sure it will end in sin. A few good verses that would be worth committing to memory are:

Commit thy works unto the LORD, and thy thoughts shall be established. (Pro 16:3)

Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things. (Phi 4:8)

And he saith unto them, Are ye so without understanding also? Do ye not perceive, that whatsoever thing from without entereth into the man, it cannot defile him; (Mar 7:18) All these evil things come from within, and defile the man. (Mar 7:23)

Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. (Jam 4:7)

Ye are of God, little children, and have overcome them: because greater is he that is in you, than he that is in the world. (1 Jo 4:4)

There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it. (1 Cor 10:13) I have personally heard from the mouth of a single Christian that they did not think they could remain chaste and pure until marriage. This verse says otherwise. If the Christian does not put himself in a situation where he will stumble, he won’t. If the Christian protects his thought life, he won’t be busy thinking of what he can’t do but of what he CAN do with the help of Christ. I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me. (Phi 4:13)

Oh single Christian, you can remain pure and chaste until marriage. The devil would have you to believe that you cannot but he is the father of lies (John 8:44). It’s a mind set and a heart set. Stay away from situations which will cause you to stumble. Keep thy heart with all diligence; for out of it are the issues of life. (Pro 4:23) The devil wants you to be weak. But we serve the King of kings, the Lord of lords! We serve a mighty God. Would our God lie to you? Of course not. But Satan surely would. You CAN do ALL things through Christ because He WILL strengthen you. Don’t fall for the devil’s lies, my friend.

In closing, let me leave you with a thought. It is better to remain single than to go down the aisle with the wrong person. Marriage can be sweet and heavenly when it is with the person God has picked for you. Being married to anyone other than the one God picked for you will give you a mediocre marriage. You will go through greater trials and tribulations. All marriages have trials and tribulations. However, when you’re married to the one God has picked for you, there are greater blessings as a result of these trials.

Take heed to the warnings you have read. God gave Eve to Adam – let Him give your mate to you. Wait on the Lord – and if God desires you to be single, accept His will for your life and serve Him to your utmost. Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD. (Psa 27:14)

Dear God…
Help my thoughts be focused on You
When temptation comes my way
Encourage my heart as I read Your Word
So my thought life is pure today