Thought for the Day – Sinking


Tumultuous Waves

~Matthew 14:25-32 And in the fourth watch of the night Jesus went unto them, walking on the sea. And when the disciples saw him walking on the sea, they were troubled, saying, It is a spirit; and they cried out for fear. But straightway Jesus spake unto them, saying, Be of good cheer; it is I; be not afraid. And Peter answered him and said, Lord, if it be thou, bid me come unto thee on the water. And he said, Come. And when Peter was come down out of the ship, he walked on the water, to go to Jesus. But when he saw the wind boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink, he cried, saying, Lord, save me. And immediately Jesus stretched forth his hand, and caught him, and said unto him, O thou of little faith, wherefore didst thou doubt? And when they were come into the ship, the wind ceased.

How many times have we been on fire for the Lord and willing to go to any lengths to serve Him?  Then, the minute the turbulent storms of life appear, we take our eyes off the Saviour, and we see our circumstances.  Fear sets in and we begin to sink.

I’ve often wondered what would have happened to Peter had he not looked around to see the storm around him but had focused on Christ instead.  Would Peter and Jesus have walked on the water to the ship to meet up with the others?  Instead, he began to sink and cried out for Jesus to save him.  The Word says that Jesus immediately stretched out His hand and caught Peter.  Jesus asked him why he had doubted?

What a lesson for me to learn!  As I go through my storms in life, I will feel as though I am sinking and all alone when I take my eyes off Christ and place them on my circumstances.  Thank You, Lord, for giving me the peace that You will immediately stretch forth Your hand and catch me!!  What comfort this brings to me!

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

