Thought for the Day – Firsts


Psalm 19:14 Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O Lord, my strength, and my redeemer.

How important are our words? In one breath, we can encourage someone who is struggling with the loss of a loved one. In the next breath, we can raise our voice to our children in anger. Both situations required words of some kind but I’m certain each had a different set of words spoken. What we say to someone does make a difference. (Ephesians 4:29)

If we started out our day by dedicating our heart and mouth to the Lord, I dare say we would be able to speak words to others that would leave them thirsting for more. Wouldn’t you agree? Our speech is what the unbelieving world will use to compare with our walk. The two must agree or our testimony will be ineffective. (Psalm 37:30) When I start my day with the Lord, reading and praying, I have placed my heart, my mind, my words and my actions down a path guided by Him. My heart is settled and prepared and my day is set into motion. I have not started the day on slippery slope but on solid ground, therefore, I am able to walk sure and steady.

The scriptures contain many examples of people and the effect their words had on others. I would like to share the accounts of three women and how their words affected those around them.

The first of these women is Eve, the very first woman. I find it interesting that in the first words we find in scriptures spoken by her, she is adding to what God commanded about the tree of the knowledge of good and evil. (Compare Genesis 2:16 and Genesis 3:2-3) God never said they couldn’t touch the fruit. Whether she did this on her own or this was what Adam shared with her, we don’t know. However, it is still interesting that these were the first recorded words spoken by Eve. What were the effects of these words? The serpent was able to trip her and deceive her. She, therefore, went to her husband and was able to convince him to eat of the fruit as well. Adam and Eve had the wonderful privilege of walking with God in the Garden of Eden. I wonder what would have happened had she prayed a similar prayer as in today’s verse? Would she have been so willing to listen to the serpent? Would she have dragged her husband into her sin? So this “first lady” of scripture words caused another to sin. Interesting.

Our next example of the impact of our words is Job’s wife. (Job 2:9) A woman who lives with a godly man cannot help but be influenced by his testimony. The scriptures don’t say whether or not she loved the Lord. All we can go by are her words. The first words spoken by Mrs. Job is Job 2:9. Except for Job’s boils, Mrs. Job experienced what Job experienced. She, too, lost all their children! Can you imagine? She, too, lost all that they had worked hard for. But when the rubber met the road, she did not have the same spiritual fortitude that her husband did. The only words mentioned in scriptures spoken by Mrs. Job is to tell her husband to curse God and die! She must have been at the end of her rope after going through all these emotional experiences. I wonder what would have happened had she started her day with this prayer in today’s text? Mrs. Job’s words encouraged her husband to curse God. Interesting.

The last of our women is Sarah. We read in Genesis 18:11-15 that the Lord told Abraham that Sarah would conceive in her old age. As well, when Sarah overheard Him, she laughed at the idea. I dare say I probably would have done the same had I been in her shoes. However, her lack of faith didn’t begin there. If you recall, Abraham had been told by God in the previous chapter that his seed would be numerous like the stars. (On a side note, Abraham laughed as well so let’s not be too harsh on Sarah!) I’m sure he shared this information with his wife. But her disbelief, or lack of faith, was displayed when she decided to help God along by giving Hagar, her servant, to Abraham so she could “bare” a child through her. What I find interesting is not so much Sarah’s lack of faith. After all, God Himself told Abraham that she would have a child. What I do find interesting is that she lied when the Lord told her that she laughed. (Genesis 18:15) She denied it! I wonder what would have happened had Sarah started her day with this prayer in today’s text? Sarah’s words, instead, were those reflecting her shaky faith and resulted in lying. Interesting.

How important it is for us to start our day out right. Is it any wonder that we are powerless in our walk when we haven’t spent time with the Lord before we embark on our day’s journey? How can our Father say no to a child who comes to him and says, “Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O Lord, my strength, and my redeemer.” A sincere prayer such as this makes for a firm foundation, don’t you think? Guarding our hearts will in turn guard our mouths. Starting our day with this sincere prayer is bound to have an effect on us. We’ll think before we speak – we’ll have God’s word hidden in our heart and its effect will be a guarded mouth.

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

