Thought for the Day – Life's Impossibilities


~Exodus 2:6-9 And she had compassion on him, and said, This is one of the Hebrews’ children. 7 Then said his sister to Pharaoh’s daughter, Shall I go and call to thee a nurse of the Hebrew women, that she may nurse the child for thee? 8 And Pharaoh’s daughter said to her, Go. And the maid went and called the child’s mother. 9 And Pharaoh’s daughter said unto her, Take this child away, and nurse it for me, and I will give thee thy wages. And the woman took the child, and nursed it.

There are times in my life when a situation comes up and I feel it will be impossible for everything to work out well. I know that with God nothing is impossible but in my own eyes, it seems hopeless. (Luke 18:27) As I read today’s text, I fell under great conviction. Do I believe this or don’t I?

Jochebed (Moses’ mother) had delivered her baby boy. The Pharaoh had commanded the midwives to kill all the baby boys the moment they were born. Despite his order, Moses was born and Jochebed was able to keep him alive. It came to a point where he was getting too old to be kept a secret. She thought up a plan to spare his life. This mother trusted God to protect her son and did what she could on her end by preparing an “ark” to carry him safely into Pharaoh’s daughter’s hands. I wonder, do I trust the Lord with my children’s safety? Do I fret when things are out of my “control”? (Matthew 6:26-27) I can just imagine how difficult it must have been for Jochebed to let go of her precious baby boy! I can’t even begin to imagine me doing this! In order to spare his life, she had to give him up! Such love, don’t you think?

This same love for her child caused her to go to extreme measures in a seemingly impossible situation. (Hebrews 10:23) She exercised her faith in God by going forward with her plan and praying that the God of Abraham would work things out. I truly believe that God honored Jochebed’s faith in Him and rewarded her for her faith! So much so that He allowed for her to be the nurse maid who would care for her own baby! Can you imagine the joy she must have felt when Pharaoh’s daughter’s servant came to fetch her? (Psalm 5:11) Can you imagine her joy when Pharaoh’s daughter told her what was to be expected of her? Not only did Jochebed get to nurse her precious baby, but, on a side note, she was going to be paid to do so! (Psalm 32:11)

God can take an horrible situation and make it turn out for the good! (Genesis 50:20) Jochebed must have thought she would never see Moses again. But instead, she was allowed to become a part of his every day life when he would need her the most! How she must have jumped for joy once she came home with Moses! What a testimony to her faith for her family to witness.

Oh what a compassionate and loving God we serve! (Lamentations 3:22) No matter how impossible my situation may be, I can learn from these accounts in the Scriptures and know that the same God who helped Jochebed will help me! 🙂

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thought for the Day – Life's Impossibilities

  1. Vicky says:

    Our Lord’s promises are sure!!!

    GOD’S PROMISE
    (Fanny Crosby)

    He who brought His ancient people,
    With a strong and mighty hand,
    Out of all their cruel bondage,
    Into Canaan’s promised land.

    Refrain

    He has said, and we believe it,
    ’Tis a promise made of old,
    From the trusting and the loving
    No good thing will He withhold.

    He who led them through the desert,
    By the cloud that went before,
    He whose goodness never failed them,
    Though they grieved Him o’er and o’er.

    Refrain

    God is faithful to His promise,
    He is mindful of His own;
    On our journey to His kingdom
    We shall never walk alone.

    Refrain

    We shall have His kind protection
    And His love as in the past;
    Though our days be few or many,
    He will guide us to the last.

  2. Jerry Bouey says:

    What an encouraging devotional on trusting the Lord.

    (P.S. In the fourth paragraph, you have Hebrews 10:23, but I’m sure you must have meant 11:23, where it refers to the faith of Moses’ mother. God bless.)

    • Kate says:

      Thank you for posting Bro. Jerry! Actually, no, I meant Heb. 10:23 for her steadfastness in her faith … but Heb. 11:23 sure does apply there as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

