Thought for the Day – Influence


Take a moment to read Genesis chapters 18 and 19 before starting today’s devotional. Now, let’s look specifically at:

~Genesis 19:29 And it came to pass, when God destroyed the cities of the plain, that God remembered Abraham, and sent Lot out of the midst of the overthrow, when he overthrew the cities in the which Lot dwelt.

I absolutely love the account of Abraham’s intercessory prayer for Lot and his family in Genesis chapter 18. You remember … Abraham asked God if He would spare Sodom and Gomorrah if there could be 50 righteous people found; then 45; then 30; then 20; and lastly, ten. Abraham was so persistent, wasn’t he? God’s mercy was revealed in this chapter. Despite the vile sin of sodomy, God was willing to spare the cities if ten people were found that loved Him. We all know that not even ten could be found so God spared Lot, his two daughters and his wife. Lot’s wife, however, knew exactly what needed to be done to be saved from the destruction but she just could not let go of the world and turned around. Sadly, her desires for what she was leaving behind took priority over her eternal soul. 😦

Now back to topic – Abraham’s persistent prayers influenced Lot’s destiny. He and his entire family would have been destroyed had it not been for Abraham’s prayers on his behalf! How are we influencing our family members’ lives with our prayers? We know that the Father listens – He listened to Abraham and changed His plans to destroy all the inhabitants of both cities. This is serious stuff, amen?

I think of the needs in my own life and my own family members. Is the Father going to change His plans for them because of how I pray … or even worse, of how I don’t pray? Ouch! I want that kind of relationship with my Heavenly Father, don’t you? I want to be able to come to Him in prayer and plead my cause, just as Abraham did.

I also noticed that Abraham didn’t just pray his prayer and stop there. He continued … just in case his petition wouldn’t encompass the whole situation! 🙂 I love it! God is teaching us that we can push our prayers to the ultimate limit! We don’t have to think that He will get angry. Abraham’s humbleness prevailed and God accepted his prayers and agreed to Abraham’s request. I wonder how many times I’ve “stopped short” on my requests?

It’s not any different for you and I. Abraham didn’t go to the Lord demanding … in fact, he humbly petitioned God – he pushed his limits but always remembered Who he was talking to. I’m “preaching to the choir” today. I have so many requests before the Throne of Grace and find myself overwhelmed at the intensity and vastness of each one of my requests. They are all so important to me, just as Abraham’s request was important to him. Our requests always seem overwhelming when they involve our family! I can go to my Father with the same confidence that He hears me because of His precious Son’s righteousness over me! I can boldly (Hebrews 4:16) go before the Throne and speak to my Heavenly Father of all my needs and those of my family and friends. I love the word “boldly”! Christ’s blood covers me and all the Father sees is His Son’s righteousness, not mine! Praise the Lord for this because my own righteousness is as filthy rags (Isaiah 64:6)!! The Father loves me as He loves His own child!

Let us go boldly, therefore, Christian, and humbly petition our Heavenly Father with all those requests. Just as Abraham did, let’s influence the lives of those we are praying for by talking to the Father about their needs! Let’s not stop short – let’s keep petitioning!

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thought for the Day – Influence

  1. Vicky says:

    Such a needful reminder that we are to humbly come before our Lord and Saviour and with assurance and persistence and lay our requests for family, friends, and for our own needs at His feet. May we worship the King of Kings and thank Him for all His blessings…how blessed we are indeed!!! What a privilege to be part of the family of GOD!!!

    Amen & Amen!

Leave a Reply

