Thought for the Day – Day 25 – Tears


There are trials that cause us to shed so many tears, you feel as though there could not possibly be any more to shed. When I was going through one of those trials with my husband’s cancer, I needed to encourage myself by writing. I decided I would look up verses with the word “tears” and see what the Lord gives to me.

I noticed that tears are shed for various reasons – but not one tear goes unnoticed by our Heavenly Father.

Thou tellest my wanderings: put thou my tears into thy bottle: are they not in thy book? (Psalm 56:8)

Turn again, and tell Hezekiah the captain of my people, Thus saith the LORD, the God of David thy father, I have heard thy prayer, I have seen thy tears: behold, I will heal thee: on the third day thou shalt go up unto the house of the LORD. (II Kings 20:5)

Go, and say to Hezekiah, Thus saith the LORD, the God of David thy father, I have heard thy prayer, I have seen thy tears: behold, I will add unto thy days fifteen years. (Isaiah 38:5)

Different types of tears:

When friends (or even family) scorn us: My friends scorn me: but mine eye poureth out tears unto God. (Job 16:20)

When we go through personal trial or turmoil: I am weary with my groaning; all the night make I my bed to swim; I water my couch with my tears. (Psalm 6:6)

When we receive deliverance and direction from God: For thou hast delivered my soul from death, mine eyes from tears, and my feet from falling. (Psalm 116:8)

Tears resulting from spiritual warfare and work: Thus saith the LORD; Refrain thy voice from weeping, and thine eyes from tears: for thy work shall be rewarded, saith the LORD; and they shall come again from the land of the enemy. (Jeremiah 31:16)

When family trials overwhelm us and faith is little: And straightway the father of the child cried out, and said with tears, Lord, I believe; help thou mine unbelief. (Mark 9:24)

When we receive true repentance: And stood at his feet behind him weeping, and began to wash his feet with tears, and did wipe them with the hairs of her head, and kissed his feet, and anointed them with the ointment. (Luke 7:38)

When we receive correction: And he turned to the woman, and said unto Simon, Seest thou this woman? I entered into thine house, thou gavest me no water for my feet: but she hath washed my feet with tears, and wiped them with the hairs of her head. (Luke 7:44)

When we serve God: Serving the Lord with all humility of mind, and with many tears, and temptations, which befell me by the lying in wait of the Jews: (Acts 20:19)

When the man of God preaches and Exhorts the brethren: Therefore watch, and remember, that by the space of three years I ceased not to warn every one night and day with tears. (Acst 20:31)

When we suffer affliction and anguish for others: For out of much affliction and anguish of heart I wrote unto you with many tears; not that ye should be grieved, but that ye might know the love which I have more abundantly unto you. (II Corinthians 2:4)

When we remember the brethren: Greatly desiring to see thee, being mindful of thy tears, that I may be filled with joy; (II Timothy 1:4)

The end of them all: And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away. (Revelations 21:4)

God will wipe away every tear! He will swallow up death in victory; and the Lord GOD will wipe away tears from off all faces; and the rebuke of his people shall he take away from off all the earth: for the LORD hath spoken it. (Isaiah 25:8)

We need to remember that the battles we face here on this earth are not ours but God’s. His Word says so:

And all this assembly shall know that the LORD saveth not with sword and spear: for the battle is the LORD’S, and he will give you into our hands. (I Samuel 17:47)

And he said, Hearken ye, all Judah, and ye inhabitants of Jerusalem, and thou king Jehoshaphat, Thus saith the LORD unto you, Be not afraid nor dismayed by reason of this great multitude; for the battle is not yours, but God’s. (II Chronicles 20:15)

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thought for the Day – Day 25 – Tears

  1. Sis. Julie says:

    Excellent post Sis. Kate!! It is so true that at times we have to do as David did…encourage ourselves in the Lord. I hope you have accomplished that in this post. You blessed my heart with it!! Thank God for tears…and he says He is bottling them up for me…I hope he has a big bottle…cause I’m one of His biggest bawl-babies!!

  2. Kate says:

    I must admit that I have filled a few of the Lord’s bottles šŸ™‚

  3. Jerry Bouey says:

    Some powerful verses there, Kate! I love the book of Isaiah – just when I think I found all my favourite verses in it, I see another one!While I do not cry a whole lot – or if I do, it doesn’t last very long – this past year has been a difficult one emotionally. I am glad the Lord remembers all my tears and promises to wipe them all away.I am not sure if you have read this, but you might appreciate it. It is what I preached at my Mom’s Memorial last year. It was based in part on John 11:35, about how God knows and identifies with all the pain we are going through:Our Mom’s Victory Through FaithI hope it is a blessing and comfort to all who read it.

  4. Kate says:

    What a great comfort yet again that piece is, Bro. Jerry. I’m glad you put it here for others to link to!! What a blessing in time of grief!

Leave a Reply

