Thought for the Day – Day 21 – Peace


~Psalm 119:165 Great peace have they which love thy law: and nothing shall offend them.

I have loved this verse for many years! The Lord first gave it to me when I was going through some very difficult trials in my life. When God would try to give me some spiritual meat through the Pastor’s messages, I did not like what I was hearing. I did not want to follow the guidance the man of God was clearly preaching. I thought what he was preaching was too hard for me and I felt that it was too much to bear. Sometimes we look at our trials as a whole and get discouraged. This is what I did. I would look at the big picture, hear the preaching and think to myself that God didn’t know what He was asking me to do! Was I ever wrong!!

Everyone has an area in their life where they struggle. Why do we think that ours is unique and is just too great to give up? It’s because we are not in the word of God the way we should be. Don’t be angry with the Preacher for preaching God’s word. If you are, Psalm 119:165 cannot be a verse you can claim. Instead, submit to the preaching and allow the Holy Spirit to do a work in you. There is nothing that you are experiencing right now that you cannot overcome, my friend. There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it. (I Corinthians 10:13)

God promises peace and He gives peace. The only thing we have to do to possess that peace is to be in His word. How hard is that? D.L. Moody once said, “The Bible will keep you from sin, or sin will keep you from the Bible.” If things are going wrong and you are overwhelmed, look at your Bible life. If you are on the verge of a marital break up, look at your Bible life. I was there once and digging into the word of God helped me and healed my broken marriage.

You can turn yourself around. Sure it will mean setting aside time to read your bible and study it. Sure it will mean having to apply what you learn and repent of those sins that God places on your heart. If you’re miserable, it’s because you choose to be miserable. The sad thing is that you bring down those around you, too! Wouldn’t it be easier to submit to God’s Word today? Great peace have they which love thy law: and nothing shall offend them. (Psa 119:165)

Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee. (Isa 26:3)

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

