Thought for the Day – Day 16 – Promises


~Genesis 9:12-17 And God said, This is the token of the covenant which I make between me and you and every living creature that is with you, for perpetual generations: 13 I do set my bow in the cloud, and it shall be for a token of a covenant between me and the earth. 14 And it shall come to pass, when I bring a cloud over the earth, that the bow shall be seen in the cloud: 15 And I will remember my covenant, which is between me and you and every living creature of all flesh; and the waters shall no more become a flood to destroy all flesh. 16 And the bow shall be in the cloud; and I will look upon it, that I may remember the everlasting covenant between God and every living creature of all flesh that is upon the earth. 17 And God said unto Noah, This is the token of the covenant, which I have established between me and all flesh that is upon the earth.

I absolutely LOVE rainbows! Who doesn’t? Each time I see one, I think about God’s covenant with all of us on this earth who have ever lived and are ever going to live! God is not a man and does not lie (I Samuel 15:29); therefore, His promises are kept! He promised never to destroy the entire earth by flood waters.

On a side note, how are our promises? Do we break them? Do we make commitments and then not keep them? James 5:12 tells us that we should not make promises (vows) and break them. What are we teaching our children when we do so: The bottom line is that our word is not to be trusted! Just a little food for thought 🙂

I just wanted to encourage the heart of every believer that is reading this today! God’s promises are certain – God’s word is everlasting! Each of us can rest in God’s promises because we know that He is faithful and all of His promises will be fulfilled!

~II Peter 3:9-10 The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance. 10 But the day of the Lord will come as a thief in the night; in the which the heavens shall pass away with a great noise, and the elements shall melt with fervent heat, the earth also and the works that are therein shall be burned up.

He wants all to repent and has delayed His return so that all should have an opportunity to repent and be saved. But alas, not all will! II Peter 3:10 tells us that His return will be as a thief in the night – not everyone will be watching for His return just as one doesn’t stay awake to see if his house will be robbed. The signs we are currently seeing should be a wake up call to many. Unfortunately, most are hardened and do not care. I have been looking for Christ’s return for His bride since 1980, when I first was saved. But the signs have never been as clear as they are now!

God has promised that He will judge this earth and that He will return. He won’t flood the entire earth again because He promised that He wouldn’t. However, II Peter 3:10 says that He will melt and burn what is left. Just as He kept the first promise, you can take it to the bank that God will keep this one as well.

I’m saddened that my friends and family laugh or shrug this off as if I’m some kind of lunatic or religious fanatic. 😦 I’m not a lunatic; however, I am a fanatic for the Lord, Jesus Christ. Unlike E.F. Hutton, when God says something in His word, we should listen because He is always right! He places His word above His own name (Psalm 138:2) so you can better believe that He is coming again and He is going to win the war against Satan. Read Revelation and see what kind of destruction awaits the unbeliever – read what happens to Satan. It’s not too late to be part of the church who will be taken away before this seven-year tribulation begins! Repent (Luke 13:3) – be saved (Romans 5:8, Romans 6:23, John 3:3, Romans 9:9-11) – and enjoy God’s promises! 🙂

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

