Thought for the Day – Day 14 – Dark Days


Dark days are stepping stones on the path of light. Anonymous

Dark days – we all have them! We all deal with them in different ways, as well. As parents, we are constantly being observed. Little eyes are ever watching – and they pick up on more than we give them credit. What do my actions speak to my children as the family goes through a trial? Am I confident in the Lord? Do I fall apart? Do I cry and spend hours on the phone with different people telling them all about my problems?

~Psalm 23:4a Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me;…

David was experiencing some very dark days as he wrote this Psalm. So much so, I imagine that he thought death was even at the door. But notice what he says. “I will fear no evil: for thou art with me”! David knew that no matter how difficult times got, they couldn’t be too bad because God was with him. Can’t you just see the confidence behind his statement? His God wasn’t standing in the distance, nor was He indisposed! David’s God, my God, is right there with me! As I go through each trial with this confidence, I get stronger in my faith.

This strong faith is what my children need to observe, not a mother who is falling apart at the seams! We have such an awesome responsibility to raise spiritually healthy children. I would share Scriptures with my children about God’s faithfulness and His wonderful presence at all times (Hebrews 13:5 and Psalm 23:4). When difficult days came, I reminded them of those verses and related them with a particular trial we were experiencing as a family. As the trial developed and came to an end, we talked about God’s faithfulness (Psalm 89:1, Lamentations 3:22-23).

As we saw God’s hand in our lives throughout the entire trial, we were able to rejoice as a family and speak of His goodness. My children had not only learned to trust in the Lord in all things, but they learned to rejoice at His goodness! (Psalm 31:19) So what are we teaching our children during those dark days? Are they able to see that God is using the trial as an opportunity to shine His light on us and direct our path? Are they able to rest in His care? How can they if you’re not? Each trial should be a building block in our faith and should increase our trust in God. (Proverbs 3:5-6)

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

