Thought for the Day – Day 11 – Choices


~Joshua 24:15 And if it seem evil unto you to serve the Lord, choose you this day whom ye will serve; whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the flood, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land ye dwell: but as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.

~Joshua 24:22 And Joshua said unto the people, Ye are witnesses against yourselves that ye have chosen you the Lord, to serve him. And they said, We are witnesses.

I have grown to love starting my day off early in the morning with a quiet house. The sound of the roaring ocean in the distance reminds me that God is powerful, He’s my Creator, and He is right there with me. What does my day have in store for me? What surprises lie waiting? What choices will I have to make?

As I sip my coffee and fuel myself on God’s word, I find within its precious pages what to do when those choices are presented to me. Because of what Christ did on the cross for me, I have a choice on what I’m going to do with my day! I can choose to live it sold out for the Lord or I can choose to be defeated.

Choices … I face them every day! I choose what brand of bread to buy. I choose what clothes to wear. I choose to stay in a bad mood because it suits the circumstances. I choose to sin or not to sin. But as I struggle with sin and whether or not to give in to temptation, I am reminded that God loves me; so much so, that He provides a way for me to escape from that temptation:

~I Corinthians 10:13 There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.

Ladies, as we mature in Christ and become more like Him, we are able to help and teach our children how they, too, can overcome temptation. All of our life’s lessons can be stored up to use as future lessons for our children! What a blessing it is to watch a child grow in the Lord because of something we taught them from God’s word! Of all the gifts we can give our children after leading them to the Lord, the best gift is to teach them how to overcome temptation. They need to learn that God has not left us to our own devices. He has given us the ability to have victory over our sin because of His precious work on the cross! They do not need to give in sin.

~I John 5:4 For whatsoever is born of God overcometh the world: and this is the victory that overcometh the world, even our faith.

Children will have to make choices every day of their life. God’s word shows them that He is interested in them and cares about their choices. So much so, He provides a way out of temptation by showing them the right path to take. Every mother knows when her young child is about to lie. Use that opportunity to teach the child about I Corinthians 10:13. This is a wonderful object lesson! Read the verse aloud and then ask, “Johnny, think before you answer Mommy. Does God want you to tell me the truth right now, even though it will be hard?” The word of God is powerful (Hebrews 4:12) and will cut deep into Johnny’s heart. If Johnny makes the right choice, he will respond positively. If he makes the wrong choice and lies anyway, the same lesson still applies but with an added consequence (punishment) for his wrong choice.

Being a mother is such an awesome responsibility. The more of God’s word we hide away in our child’s heart, the more he will have to pull from when he is in need. We have been given the opportunity mold and build our children’s spiritual foundation in Christ. There’s nothing like using God’s word and life’s lessons to teach our children because they have hit home for us personally.

~James 1:12 Blessed is the man that endureth temptation: for when he is tried, he shall receive the crown of life, which the Lord hath promised to them that love him.

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

