Thought for the Day – Day 8 – In His Time


~Eccl. 3:11 “He hath made every thing beautiful in his time:…”

While meditating on today’s verse and picture, I began to see the work that the Holy Spirit had begun in my life almost 31 years ago. When I first heard the Gospel of Jesus Christ (John 3:16, II Corinthians 9:15, Ephesians 2:8-9), I received a huge dose of salvation πŸ™‚ My life totally changed (II Corinthians 5:17)! I was so grateful for the forgiveness of sin that I had received because I had sinned much. 😦 Christ gave Himself for me and I am so unworthy. I remember wondering what I could do to say thank you to the One who had given me life! All He wanted was me!!

The butterfly didn’t start out beautiful, now did it? In fact, once the egg hatches, it is a larva; then it grows into a caterpillar; and lastly forms a cocoon called the pupa stage. (That’s your lesson in science for the day :-)) We all know that there’s a wonderful metamorphosis that takes place inside that cocoon! This is how I see myself. I was born into this world as a larva (bear with me :-)). As I grew up, I went from one branch to another (my daily life before salvation), but diligently plodding along. I get to a point when I am so spiritually dead, I’m like a cocoon. I am self absorbed and not caring about anything around me. In my “cocoon” stage, the Holy Spirit begins to stir my heart with the word of God through a diligent soul winner or a message at church. When the word of God penetrates my cocoon heart and I confess my sin and repent from my wicked ways, the cocoon breaks open and I start to spread my wings in my new-found salvation!

~Philippians 1:6 Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ:

I once read that it takes about ten days for a butterfly to come out of its cocoon and finally spread its wings. The good work that the Holy Spirit has begun in us at salvation, will continue until the day we meet Christ face-to-face. But what amazed me is that the ‘not so pretty’ moth goes through the same stages! No offense to the moth πŸ™‚ but it just does not have the daintiness of the butterfly. I liken the drabby brown moth’s appearance to the Christian who has quenched the Holy Spirit and has not lived for others as the Lord encouraged.

~Colossians 1:10-11 That ye might walk worthy of the Lord unto all pleasing, being fruitful in every good work, and increasing in the knowledge of God; 11 Strengthened with all might, according to his glorious power, unto all patience and longsuffering with joyfulness;

The colors of spiritual fruitfulness in good works, Bible reading and studying, patience, longsuffering and joy begin to unfold and form a beautiful butterfly. When we finally stand before Christ, we can present to Him a beautiful butterfly!!! πŸ™‚ Once the works of wood and stubble are burned, (I Corinthians 3:11-15) I wonder how many moths we’ll see in Heaven? As well, once the works of gold and silver are tried, I wonder how many of us will be beautiful butterflies? I definitely want to be able to present to my Lord those beautiful works of gold and silver reflected in the Monarch butterfly! I want to be able to hear, “Well done, thou good and faithful servant”! (Matthew 25:21)

What a wonderful opportunity we women have in raising children! We have God’s wondrous creation to use as “lessons in life” to teach them His precious word!

~Eccl. 3:11 “He hath made every thing beautiful in his time:…”

 

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

