Thought for the Day – Day 4 – THE Light


Life … it sure does have its ups and downs, its to’s and fro’s, its backs and forths, doesn’t it? (I’m making myself sea sick!! :razz:) Just when we think we’ve got a handle on life, BAM! The Devil throws in a cherry bomb and off we go in the opposite direction – not thinking we should stay on track. Anyone having children can say they have lived through a few of Satan’s cherry bombs! These cherry bombs can be overwhelming at times! At least they were for me! Oh to have the seemingly effortless logic of a man during those moments! 🙂 When it comes to my children, my emotions can sometimes get in the way and I forget just Who is in control!

Sometimes our Christian walk is like a navigator in desperate need of a compass to lead him in the right direction. We all know that a compass points due North – it is “a must” on a voyage – especially when it’s overcast and the navigator doesn’t have the stars to guide him.

How many times have I said, “I would love to have step-by-step parenting guide!” I especially thought this when my baby was sick for the first time – or the first time my child had a broken heart! We do have that guide but how many mothers run to the Holy Bible for every issue of life?

So what about our voyage in life as Christian women, mothers, and wives? We are so blessed because we have Jesus Christ at the helm of our ship! Those of us who are married are not only blessed to have Christ at the helm, but the Lord uses our husbands as co-captain! We are in good hands for sure!

As if this isn’t enough of a blessing, we have a Captain that never sleeps (Psalm 121:3)! Nor is He just any ordinary captain, but the One who can calm the stormy seas. I once read an awesome comment: “He may not choose to calm the storms but He will calm our heart as we walk through the storm!” Was that good, or what!!! Either way, Jesus Christ is in the midst of all our storms.

~Matthew 8:23-26 And when he was entered into a ship, his disciples followed him. 24 And, behold, there arose a great tempest in the sea, insomuch that the ship was covered with the waves: but he was asleep. 25 And his disciples came to him, and awoke him, saying, Lord, save us: we perish. 26 And he saith unto them, Why are ye fearful, O ye of little faith? Then he arose, and rebuked the winds and the sea; and there was a great calm.

The word of God lightens our way in the midst of a storm, like a lighthouse! (Psalm 119:105) I live about 11 miles away from Heceta Head Lighthouse – one of the most photographed lighthouses in the United States. What a sight to behold at night! I’ve read that its beam of light reaches 12 miles out at sea! God’s word can illuminate our way when are times are “dark”; it counsels us when we don’t know what to do; it trains us when we need to learn; it guides us when we’re not sure which road to take; and it lights that path of parenting that we so desperately need!

Jesus Christ is our Lighthouse!! He is the light of the world! No matter how rough the stormy seas of life get, He is diligent to light our way – pointing us in the right direction – keeping us from crashing onto the rocky coastline of Satan’s destruction! His word heeds warnings – it steers us away from sin – it leads us to Him who frees us from sin! After salvation, His still small voice guides us through tumultuous times.

All you mothers will relate to this incident in my life. I recall when my oldest, Aaron, was just a baby. I thought he had a cold but it turned out to be the croup. I called the doctor’s office in the middle of the night and was waiting for him to call me back. While I was waiting, I did all I knew to ease my baby’s distressed breathing. 😦 I was about to give him some cough medicine, but a still small voice told me to wait. Just a few minutes later, the doctor returned my call and told me exactly what to do and what medicine to give him. The cough medicine I was thinking of giving him would not have helped him at all! In fact, had I given it to Aaron, I would have had to wait until its effects had worn out before I could give him what was good for him!! I was so thankful for the Lord’s guidance in the situation! As any mother knows, the croup is nothing to mess with. Every minute counts! I’ve had many occurrences where God’s still small voice spoke to my heart! That was a beaming light from my Lighthouse!

Our blessed Light – our lighthouse – (John 8:12) is there to show us the way! Not only that, He is THE Light! There are only three verses in our King James Bible where the Lord, Jesus Christ is referred to as Light (with a capital L). In fact, the word “Light” appears four times in those three verses:

~John 1:7-9 The same came for a witness, to bear witness of the Light, that all men through him might believe. 8 He was not that Light, but was sent to bear witness of that Light. 9 That was the true Light, which lighteth every man that cometh into the world.

Does that not excite the spirit within you?!  Our Captain, the Creator, our Compass, our Rock, our Shepherd, the Light and lighthouse, is there as we walk the stormy seas of life! As we read His word, He instructs us and gives us exactly what we need with whatever issues arise. It reminded me of the Bible’s account of Moses and the plagues of Egypt:

~Exodus 10:22-23 And Moses stretched forth his hand toward heaven; and there was a thick darkness in all the land of Egypt three days: 23 They saw not one another, neither rose any from his place for three days: but all the children of Israel had light in their dwellings.

Being a born-again Christian wife and mother is a wonderful life!! The same God who helped the children of Israel and gave them light in their dwellings is the God who will light our way on our path! Each incident – each trial – each path can be clearly lit if we look to our Captain! If it’s one of those “future unknowns,” we can rest in His care knowing that He will direct our paths (Proverbs 3:5-6) when the time comes.

I was going to write a poem about our Captain or our Lighthouse. But Ronnie Hinson’s song called, “The Lighthouse” came to mind and I thought it was perfect! Many of you already know it but just reading the words are a blessing!

The Lighthouse
By Ronnie Hinson
(c) 1971

There’s a lighthouse on the hillside
That overlooks life’s sea.
When I’m tossed it sends out a light,
Tis a light that I might see.
And the light that shines in darkness now
Will safely lead us o’er.
If it wasn’t for the lighthouse,
My ship would be no more.

And I thank God for the lighthouse,
I owe my life to Him.
For Jesus is the lighthouse
And from the rocks of sin;
He has shone a light around me
That I could clearly see,
If it wasn’t for the lighthouse
Tell me where would this ship be.

Everybody that lives around us
Says tear that lighthouse down.
The big ships don’t sail this way anymore,
There’s no use of it standing around.
Then my mind goes back to that stormy night,
When just in time I saw the light;
Yes the light from that old lighthouse
That stands up there on the hill.

And I thank God for the lighthouse,
I owe my life to Him.
For Jesus is the lighthouse
And from the rocks of sin;
He has shone a light around me
That I could clearly see,
If it wasn’t for the lighthouse
Tell me where would this ship be.

If it wasn’t for the lighthouse,
Tell me, where would this ship be?

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thought for the Day – Day 4 – THE Light

  1. Vicky Albert says:

    AMEN & AMEN!!

    Psalm 18:28
    “For thou wilt light my candle: the Lord my God will enlighten my darkness.”

Leave a Reply

