Thought for the Day – Day 3 – My Colors


Ahhhh, I can’t help seeing myself sitting on the bench in today’s picture – just enjoying the view and breathing in that fresh air! What perfect therapy, indeed! One can have the most stressful day but once one sits on that bench, listens to the birds chirping, beholding the beauty God has provided, those stresses melt away! What a beautiful photograph! My precious friend from Northern Maine takes many of the photos I use on this blog. What an eye she has! She captures God’s beauty in such a way that one can’t help but glorify Him!

As I looked at these beautiful colors (yet another blessing from the Lord), I realized the lessons that God is waiting to teach me – right down to science! 🙂 As Winter approaches, those daylight hours become shorter and, therefore, the photosynthesis time is shortened – we all know that less photosynthesis means less green leaves. We see the results in Fall’s vibrant colors! Our Creator must love color? I know that I sure do! Between Fall colors, a colorful Monarch butterfly, and a beautiful rainbow, I’m convinced of this fact 🙂

O.K., back on track, Kate! Some of the Autumn leaves have turned brown – they are totally dead; others seem to cling to life for as long as they can, shining brilliantly in the sunlight! There’s nothing like Autumn in New England on a sunny day! The vibrancy of the colorful foliage as the sun beams down is almost blinding!

So what’s the application, you may ask? (Everything on life’s journey can have a biblical application if we look for it.) Personally, I see Autumn as a beautiful comparison to my Christian walk! What color are the leaves of my current spiritual life? I see a new Christian as buds on a tree – in the Spring of their Christian walk. As that Christian grows in the Lord, becoming more spiritually mature (leaving the milk of the word and moving on to the meat of the word – Hebrews 5:13-14), his leaves become full, moist and green! The Summer of this Christian’s life is the time of fruitfulness. The fruit grows and matures! What a lovely analogy!

Fall comes along with its gorgeous colors and its harvest – whatever we have sown as believers will now surface (II Corinthians 9:6)! Have we led another to Christ? Oh what lovely spiritual fruit that is! Do we have children? Yet another beautiful fruit! Better yet, have you led your children to Christ? 🙂 Were we a Godly wife and mother (Proverbs 31:11-31)? I’m sure that accounts for a few more beautifully colored leaves. I think you see where I am going.

~Ecclesiastes 3:1-2 To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven: 2 A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted; )

Now that Autumn is over, what will I take with me into the “Winter” of my spiritual life?

~Song of Solomon 2:11 For, lo, the winter is past, the rain is over and gone;

It’s too late once Winter comes.  A tree can’t say, “Wait, wait! I want to grow more leaves or bear some more fruit!” If the tree didn’t bear any fruit, it’s too late. The rains are finished and the hardness of the ground appears. Nothing grows at that point. I believe we fail to think that far ahead. We assume that we have plenty of time, but do we, really? The last thing I want is to enter Heaven with brown leaves. 😦

It’s never too late to start working on our spiritual lives! It’s never too late to work on our colorful leaves 😉 The spiritual portrait of our life can appear dull or it can be vibrant with color.  Each lesson taught by the Lord, each moment spent in His word, creates “color”! We, too, can stand tall with the sparkling colors of spiritual growth.

~Ephesians 4:14-15 That we henceforth be no more children, tossed to and fro, and carried about with every wind of doctrine, by the sleight of men, and cunning craftiness, whereby they lie in wait to deceive; 15 But speaking the truth in love, may grow up into him in all things, which is the head, even Christ:

Each moment spent at the Master’s feet is reflected in our lives! So what color leaves will we have when the Lord calls us home? Are we going to be brown like the dead leaves and have no fruit to give Him? Or, are we going to shine brilliantly in the Son’s light, reflecting the faith that has grown through the years and the souls we have touched, either through salvation or helping them to grow?

My Autumn Leaves

How colorful will my leaves be,
as I approach my Autumn days?
As stunning as the Maple tree,
or brown from my lazy ways?

Will I shimmer in the Son’s light,
or will my dullness bring Him shame?
Will I hang my head embarrassed,
as my leaves go up in flames?

My life’s Winter is drawing near;
what I’ve done is what will last.
No longer can I change those leaves
It’s too late to change the past!

Gifts of color I wish to give,
from the leaves He caused to grow.
So I may lay them at His feet,
gifts of color for my Lord!

© Kate Plourde
March 2011

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thought for the Day – Day 3 – My Colors

  1. Vicky Albert says:

    I cannot fully explain the tremendous blessing today’s devotional was to my heart. It definitely challenges you to look deep inside and reflect on what you’ve done for the Lord. Self examination is never easy……let’s be honest…..it downright hurts. Help us O Lord to live for You and to serve You faithfully with all our hearts. Amen.

    Thank you for all your poems precious sister…..what a gift the LORD has given you!!! “…..May the Lord thy God bless thee in all that thou doest.”

    You are Loved and Cherished,
    Vicky

Leave a Reply

