Thought for the Day – Day 1 – A Gem or Lump of Coal



“Cherish those things which God has given to you.”

These are wonderful words of advice spoken at a ladies’ function that I attended. After all, we all have something to be thankful for, don’t we? Even if we can’t think of anything right off the bat, surely if we dig deep enough and look hard enough, we will find something! Today’s pic of the day ought to stir something up in your “grateful basket”!

We women are such emotional creatures and, more times than not, we have the capability of turning our thoughts around. Think about it! You’ve had a horrible day and your husband comes home with beautiful flowers! Voila! Your day suddenly takes on a new light 🙂

But seriously, a bad mood can truly filter down to those we love and it produces a “domino effect of hurt” that we never intended. Our ‘mood’ dictates the ‘spirit’ in our homes. A grumpy woman makes for a very unsettled atmosphere in her home! Her family scatters like roaches in the kitchen when the lights are turned on! A joyous woman, however, is a breath of fresh air to those who enter the house. Her smile is contagious and that seemingly “hard and difficult day” melts away! Oh ladies, we have such an awesome and wonderful responsibility! God has placed us in such a special position! We can either “make or break” our home.

~Proverbs 14:1 Every wise woman buildeth her house: but the foolish plucketh it down with her hands.

We are either building or tearing our home down – even doing “nothing” is tearing the home down; complacency tears the home down. We either produce gems in our home building or we are producing lumps of coal – it’s as simple as that. So, I must ask myself, “Am I a gem to my husband or am I a lump of coal?” It’s important to build a solid foundation for our home before children come along. Every day, our foundation is built upon the day before. We have a choice in what we use as our building material.

~Proverbs 31:10 Who can find a virtuous woman? for her price is far above rubies.

A husband shouldn’t have to wonder what kind of mood his wife will be in when he walks through the front door. Our children shouldn’t be afraid to get Mommy in a bad mood. These cracks in the foundation can be fixed if handled early.  However, if we let it go too long, it will cost us dearly to repair. And, yes, at times it can never be repaired. We wives and mothers are human, after all. But the best thing we can do for ourselves is to quickly seek forgiveness for our mistakes and move on. Has your temper gotten the best of you? Ask forgiveness! Our children are so quick to forgive! They love us so unconditionally when they are little – a quality we should really seek to keep in our own lives.

Contentiousness is a sin that causes a heavy weight to be borne by those who live in its midst. Just what does that word mean, anyway? Noah Webster’s 1828 Dictionary defines contentious as “given to angry debate; quarrelsome; perverse.” This opens things up a bit.  Digging deeper, we find that perverse means “Obstinate in the wrong; disposed to be contrary; stubborn;” Ahhh, now a clearer picture is being painted! What family wants to come home to a woman who displays these characteristics? No one does! In fact, they will do everything in their power to work late, stay at a friend’s house, etc.!

You just have to love the way God describes a contentious woman:

~Proverbs 21:19 It is better to dwell in the wilderness, than with a contentious and an angry woman.

~Proverbs 27:15 A continual dropping in a very rainy day and a contentious woman are alike.

Ouch! The Lord sure has a way with words, doesn’t He? 🙂 I don’t need to explain those two verses – just let your imagination work for a few seconds and you’ll get it. But let’s not stop there – let’s meditate on it.  Is the Lord talking to me here? Am I that negative person? What comes out of my mouth: angry words or uplifting ones? Am I always ready to debate? Am I quick to lose my temper? Do I criticize instead of “building up”? Am I stubborn – do I have to have my way? If I don’t get my own way, do I sulk like a child?

These characteristics are part of the foundation that we lay for our marriage. Is it really something we want? If you stand back and look at these faults, what’s the first thing that comes to mind? I see a woman who is “self” centered. New marriages are generally spent trying to conform our spouse into the ideal we want. That is the epitome of self-centeredness! What about conforming ourselves into the image of Christ?? If each of us spent our time allowing the Holy Spirit to mold us, we wouldn’t have any time left to try to change our spouse – or, as I like to put it, trying to be our spouse’s personal little ‘holy spirit.’

Our goal should be to make our home a sweet haven of rest for our family. They should long to run to it after a day filled with strife and pain. It ought to be a place where they know they will receive encouragement, love, hugs and sweet words. It reminded me of the following verse:

~Psalms 55:6 And I said, Oh that I had wings like a dove! for then would I fly away, and be at rest.

Many times our days are filled with so many trials and tribulations that we just can’t wait to get home and escape from them all! Calgon take me away! 🙂 But wait – we’re not alone in those feelings! What about our husband and our children? This is the type of home we should try to create – a haven of rest for them to run to so they can be sheltered from the storms of life. It’s an awesome accomplishment for a wife and mother when her family actually enjoys coming home because of the haven she has created for them!

These are the characteristics we women ought to be laying in our home’s foundation. 🙂 Our foundation must be built on the Rock, Jesus Christ. His Holy Spirit teaches us and molds us into the image of our Saviour as we yield ourselves to Him. Are we lumps of coal? If yes, the Holy Spirit will point out each area He wants us to change if we allow Him.

Our foundation’s strength will be in direct proportion to our ‘yielding’ to Him. Do we allow the Lord to mend our foundation’s cracks? Only He can mend it for good and make it strong!

I don’t think there’s a woman alive who wouldn’t want to hear these words:

~Proverbs 31:28 Her children arise up, and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praiseth her.

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thought for the Day – Day 1 – A Gem or Lump of Coal

  1. Sister Kate I am so glad you’ve directed me to your thought for the day blog. The message for today is so uplifting, encouraging and so very true. There is so much that a woman [though I can truly speak for myself] has on her plate in a days time. I am thankful that God has created in me the woman that I am. Flaws and all. He knows me and for sure He knows how to keep me in check. I especially can witness to the part you wrote about anger and forgiveness. Me with my always showing self control self, takes a lot to make me angry, always so quick and willing to forgive; was once faced with an issue that I allowed to build up so much anger in me that I thought I would lose control of me. I did not know how I could forgive this time and was determined I wanted to be angry some more. But I tell you it will eat you alive of everything you’ve always trusted and believed in if you let it. All I will say is BUT GOD.
    Thank you for sharing and being so open.

    • Kate says:

      Hi Darlene!!! I’m so glad you stopped by for a visit!!! 🙂 It’s always a blessing to have a new person reading! You are so right about how lack of forgiveness and pent up anger can make us feel so out of control. There is no peace in that at all, huh? Thank you for sharing that!!! Blessings!!

Leave a Reply

