Reflections in Psalms – Day 64 – An Education


Psalm 119:129-136

PE
129 Thy testimonies are wonderful: therefore doth my soul keep them.
130 The entrance of thy words giveth light; it giveth understanding unto the simple.
131 I opened my mouth, and panted: for I longed for thy commandments.
132 Look thou upon me, and be merciful unto me, as thou usest to do unto those that love thy name.
133 Order my steps in thy word: and let not any iniquity have dominion over me.
134 Deliver me from the oppression of man: so will I keep thy precepts.
135 Make thy face to shine upon thy servant; and teach me thy statutes.
136 Rivers of waters run down mine eyes, because they keep not thy law.

Journaling:

1. Find all the things the Bible will do for you
2. Find the things you are suppose to do with your Bible
3. Find the things the Bible is likened to

Today’s text just jumped right out to me! It’s as if it shows the process of a Parent (God, our Father) educating His child (you and me). Go ahead and re-read these eight verses with that concept in mind and I believe you will see where I will be going with today’s devotional. 🙂

I get up in the morning and sit down with my Bible (my precious letters from God) sitting in front of me. I’m eagerly searching His word to find my golden nugget of the day (Psalm 119:127)!  What will today’s golden nugget be?  Will it be a word of encouragement to uplift me?  Will it point to a sin for which my Father wants me to repent and forsake?  Or, possibly, it could be a warning to prepare me for something in the future (Psalm 119:105)? Oh how blessed the child of God is to have His precious word!  We should thirst after it and long for Him to communicate to us (Psalm 119:129)!

As I sit reading, I eagerly await to see the light that He is about to shine on a particular verse (Psalm 119:130). “What is it, Lord? I want to understand (James 1:5) so please show me.  Give me the water from Thy fountain this day for I’m thirsting for it!” As I continue to read, the light shines on an area that I know my Father wants changed. Oh how great is His mercy unto me!  He gently molds me into the child He wishes me to become (Romans 9:21) – He is molding me to be the likeness of His Son (Romans 6:4).  On this earth, I look like my earthly father and have my mother’s eyes.  My Heavenly Father is molding me to look like His Son by shining the light from His word onto my life! 🙂  What a beautiful picture, indeed!

As I take my golden nugget of the day, I desire to apply it to my spiritual walk (Psalm 119:133). The Lord’s word lights my way throughout the day.  I am able to clearly recognize when I’m going the wrong way. I asked for His guidance before I finished my time with Him, therefore, I know He is faithful and will order my steps (Psalm 119:134).

If I take my eyes off that precious light along the way, I will most certainly fall (Psalm 119:135). How can I hurt my Father this way? His word has brought me under conviction and caused this sinner to repent! When was the last time I cried a river of tears over my sin as the Psalmist did?  I truly believe that the closer we get to the heart of our Father through His word, the more grieved we are when we sin against Him!

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

