Reflections in Psalms – Day 63 – Standing Firm


Psalm 119:121-128

AIN
121 I have done judgment and justice: leave me not to mine oppressors.
122 Be surety for thy servant for good: let not the proud oppress me.
123 Mine eyes fail for thy salvation, and for the word of thy righteousness.
124 Deal with thy servant according unto thy mercy, and teach me thy statutes.
125 I am thy servant; give me understanding, that I may know thy testimonies.
126 It is time for thee, Lord, to work: for they have made void thy law.
127 Therefore I love thy commandments above gold; yea, above fine gold.
128 Therefore I esteem all thy precepts concerning all things to be right; and I hate every false way.

Journaling:

1. Find all the things the Bible will do for you
2. Find the things you are suppose to do with your Bible
3. Find the things the Bible is likened to

Standing up for what is in alignment with God’s word is not always easy.  I can sense the frustration expressed by the Psalmist in these next eight verses. Here in Psalm 119:121, he tells the Lord how he has done what is right in His sight and he pleads that God would not allow his enemies to overcome him.  So many times we do what we know to be right but we create waves and ruffle some feathers in the process.  It’s never easy taking a stand for what is righteous!  In fact, it is then that we will receive persecution.  Many a Christian mouth has been silenced for fear of the repercussions from those who hate God’s word! To submit to this is cowardly! We are no better than Peter (Matthew 26:74) when he denied knowing Christ!  Oh what a wicked world we would change if Christians would be bolder in speaking out for what is right!

I can almost hear the Psalmist (Psalm 119:122) as he pleads to God in the night hours: “Lord, I know that what I have to do is the right thing in this situation and I know that those who oppose me will create a major stink over this! Please let me be secure (safe) in Your word as I stand for what is right.”  He pleaded his cause so much that he couldn’t even see straight (Psalm 119:123)!  “I’ve cried and searched my Bible in the wee hours of the night, to the point where I can’t see straight, Lord!  If I’m wrong, show me – deal with me mercifully if I am, and show me Your will so I can do that which is right! (Psalm 119:124) And Lord, I’m your child so please give me understanding in this situation as I read Your word! (Psalm 119:125).  I want to do what is right!”  Can’t you just hear him?

What a prayer!  How many times have I personally prayed a similar prayer in time of crisis!!?? Horrible sins are going on all around me! But when I speak up for what is right, I’m told I’m judgmental or legalistic. Read Psalm 119:126 as the Psalmist experiences the same thing. I can’t tell you how many times I have prayed this verse (in my own words) when I see the injustices of abortion and sodomy in our land! “Lord, please judge these wicked, wicked sins and purge our land. Heal our land, Lord! These people do not care a thing about Your word and we’re seeing the effects of their sin through your judgments!” The Psalmist’s enemies didn’t take God’s laws seriously back then either!

The last two verses reflect a heart that has found peace after long sleepless hours begging God for His guidance. I love when the Lord puts a verse right in front of my eyes and I’m covered like a warm blanket by His Spirit as He gives me the answers I’ve been searching for! Psalm 119:127-128 reveal that the Psalmist got exactly what he needed from his time in the word! So much so, he compares it to fine gold – priceless! There can be no price placed when God gives peace and comfort! The joy that comes in the morning after a night of tears and pleading is a wonderful reward for our search! (Psalm 30:11) The enemy can be all around us but we can be safe in God’s shelter!

You can be certain that you will encounter much persecution when you stand on God’s word! The separated Christian will not only suffer at the hand of the unsaved but will also suffer at the hand of believers who have been led astray by wrong doctrine. Let’s take abortion, for example. A sad statistic is found at http://abortionno.org:

Women identifying themselves as Protestants obtain 37.4% of all abortions in the U.S.; Catholic women account for 31.3%, Jewish women account for 1.3%, and women with no religious affiliation obtain 23.7% of all abortions. 18% of all abortions are performed on women who identify themselves as ‘Born-again/Evangelical’.

Has this sickened you? It ought to! What a horrible testimony to the Lord, Jesus Christ! I can’t believe that true born-again believers would have an abortion. If a woman believes herself to be saved and does have an abortion, I think she should seriously look to God’s word and reevaluate her profession of faith. If she is saved, repentance is surely needed! Nonetheless, the world sees these statistics as fact as it relates to abortions by born-again believers! The smear on Christ’s name is just horrible!!! When confronting women about abortion, whether in person or by way of the Internet, we are criticized, called names, and are verbally abused. How can this be so? A murderous act has been performed because the child is a mere inconvenient consequence!  Wake up, Christian! Speak up!

We must stand on what is right, as did the Psalmist in today’s text! We must seek the Lord’s guidance and direction in His word when we need to know what to do in His name. When was the last time you can say you experienced Psalm 119:123?  God will give us wisdom if we ask Him for it (James 1:5).

Stand firm, Christian; the Lord is nigh!  Our time is short!

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

