Reflections in Psalms – Day 56 – Learning


Psalm 119:65-72

TETH
65 Thou hast dealt well with thy servant, O Lord, according unto thy word.
66 Teach me good judgment and knowledge: for I have believed thy commandments.
67 Before I was afflicted I went astray: but now have I kept thy word.
68 Thou art good, and doest good; teach me thy statutes.
69 The proud have forged a lie against me: but I will keep thy precepts with my whole heart.
70 Their heart is as fat as grease; but I delight in thy law.
71 It is good for me that I have been afflicted; that I might learn thy statutes.
72 The law of thy mouth is better unto me than thousands of gold and silver.

Journaling:

1. Find all the things the Bible will do for you
2. Find the things you are suppose to do with your Bible
3. Find the things the Bible is likened to

What an awesome Bible lesson for us in today’s text!  Glory!  One does not have to read far before finding instruction that, if it is followed, will help us through hard times.  The word “deals” with us – it convicts us of our sins! It also guides and directs us when we search its precious pages for answers.

Within the blessed pages, God gives us an education in 66 beloved books! The King James Version has perfect spelling and perfect grammar. One can write out Bible memory verses and practice penmanship. There are also lessons in astronomy, zoology, botany, biology, human interest, mathematics, science, history lessons, among many more topics. One can gain much knowledge from reading and studying God’s word.

More importantly, knowledge is nothing without wisdom and good judgment! The Scriptures are also the best place to go when one is being attacked, whether with health issues, spiritually, or by those in the world. Notice in verses 67 through 71. The Psalmist speaks of being afflicted after he went astray (verse 67); however, that affliction led him to God’s word! As a result of spending time in the word, the Lord used it to teach the Psalmist (verse 68).  I discovered how his “tune” changed here. He began praising the Lord in his affliction – “Thou art good, and doest good”.

As well, the Psalmist wanted more of God’s teaching. The affliction had obviously drawn the Psalmist closer to his God because he is pouring his heart out to his Heavenly Father with details about his affliction! Notice verses 69 and 70 – he makes a statement about his enemies but follows each complaint with a solution: “but I will keep thy precepts with my whole heart” and “but I delight in thy law.” The Psalmist learned to stay in the word of God during his trials and tribulations! THAT, my friend, is the recipe to “make it”  when things are difficult – when we reach an impasse – when we’re at the end of our rope!

Lastly, as the Psalmist reviewed his afflictions, he displays the wisdom which he has gained through it all: “It is good for me that I have been afflicted; that I might learn thy statutes.” (verse 71) Really?  Is that how we feel when we are afflicted? Is God trying to teach us something through it all? Or are we just not listening because we are wallowing in self pity? Being consumed with our own circumstances to the point where we cannot be taught by God is not what we see displayed in the Psalmist’s attitude. This man grew from his experience! How? He was in the word of God! He allowed the Holy Spirit to teach him! How do I know that? Ah, read verse 72! Talk about the cherry on top of the hot fudge sundae!  Look at how precious God’s word became to the Psalmist!

God always comes through for His children, if they are searching the Scriptures for answers. We have the precious words of God in one blessed Book! How can we not take advantage of such wisdom?  So where do you turn during your afflictions?  Why not turn to the “Expert” in all things?

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

