Reflections in Psalms – Day 55 – Midnight Hour


Psalm 119:57-64

57 Thou art my portion, O Lord: I have said that I would keep thy words.
58 I intreated thy favour with my whole heart: be merciful unto me according to thy word.
59 I thought on my ways, and turned my feet unto thy testimonies.
60 I made haste, and delayed not to keep thy commandments.
61 The bands of the wicked have robbed me: but I have not forgotten thy law.
62 At midnight I will rise to give thanks unto thee because of thy righteous judgments.
63 I am a companion of all them that fear thee, and of them that keep thy precepts.
64 The earth, O Lord, is full of thy mercy: teach me thy statutes.

Journaling:

1. Find all the things the Bible will do for you
2. Find the things you are suppose to do with your Bible
3. Find the things the Bible is likened to

What a relationship and testimony in these next eight verses! Can you see it? The Psalmist tells his God that He is everything he needs! Thou art my portion, O Lord! If every Christian actually lived this little sentence, what an impact we would have on the world! I believe that this was the “anthem” of the early Christian church. How else could believers be tortured without caving in? I try to make it a point to read “Foxe’s Book of Martyrs” every year or so just to keep their vision burning in my heart.

Verse 58 and 59 reveals a repentant heart, in my opinion. The Psalmist desires mercy and thinks about his sins, confesses them and repents (turns away) – he turned his feet toward the word of God. In other words, he was not going to go in the direction of the world. Furthermore, as we read on in the next two verses (Psalm 119:60-61), we see that he didn’t waste any time putting the word of God into action in his life because that is when the devil likes to attack. Satan does not attack someone who is not living for the Lord. He attacks those who are living for Him, amen?

I have read many times in Psalms how the writer gets up early in the morning to worship the Lord or gets up in the night. Psalm 119:62 is one of these examples. For no reason, at times, I wake up in the middle of the night wondering why in the world I was awakened! What a good time to focus on the Lord and the possibility that He awaked me for a reason. Could it be someone needs prayer? Could it be that this is the time I could glean something special?

Praising the Lord in the wee hours of the night has its benefits. The Psalmist’s “walk” (his testimony), as a result of his midnight rendezvous with the Lord, gave him the strength to walk the walk and talk the talk. Notice he did not surround himself with the world (verse 63) but with those people who feared the Lord! When we are in God’s word, keeping His precepts, we stay clear of temptation. We are exhorted not to be unequally yoked with unbelievers (2 Corinthians 6:14). The Christian who is in his Bible and obedient to its instruction is a wise servant. He won’t be caught up by the world and the influences of the unsaved. The Psalmist knew this as it was evident in verse 63.

Once we get out of God’s word – once we forget His instruction, we are easily led astray. Is it any wonder that God compares us to sheep? Sheep tend to wander without focus. They would walk off a cliff if they weren’t carefully guided by their shepherd. I believe the Psalmist remembered his need for his God to guide and direct him. I believe that he remembered the words of Psalm 23 and trusted in them! How similar in heart-felt meaning these two Psalms are. The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want! Thou art my portion, O Lord!

Next time we are up at the midnight hour, make use of this precious time to thank the Lord, worship Him and love Him!

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflections in Psalms – Day 55 – Midnight Hour

  1. Vicky Albert says:

    Oh my, your devotional was such a blessing to my heart!! How I thank GOD for the ministry HE has given you precious sister!!

    Thank you LORD for Your Holy Word which leads us and guides us!! “At midnight I will rise to give thanks unto thee because of thy righteous judgments.”
    Amen & Amen!!

Leave a Reply

