Reflections in Psalms – Day 54 – A Letter


Psalm 119:49-56

49 Remember the word unto thy servant, upon which thou hast caused me to hope.
50 This is my comfort in my affliction: for thy word hath quickened me.
51 The proud have had me greatly in derision: yet have I not declined from thy law.
52 I remembered thy judgments of old, O Lord; and have comforted myself.
53 Horror hath taken hold upon me because of the wicked that forsake thy law.
54 Thy statutes have been my songs in the house of my pilgrimage.
55 I have remembered thy name, O Lord, in the night, and have kept thy law.
56 This I had, because I kept thy precepts.

Journaling:

1. Find all the things the Bible will do for you
2. Find the things you are suppose to do with your Bible
3. Find the things the Bible is likened to

As I read today’s text, I couldn’t help but notice how active God’s word truly is! Each verse put to reality exactly what God’s word did for the Psalmist. Let’s take a look:

  1. God’s words bring hope! ~1 John 3:2-3 Beloved, now are we the sons of God, and it doth not yet appear what we shall be: but we know that, when he shall appear, we shall be like him; for we shall see him as he is. 3 And every man that hath this hope in him purifieth himself, even as he is pure.
  2. God’s words quicken us (makes us alive). ~Ephesians 2:5 Even when we were dead in sins, hath quickened us together with Christ, (by grace ye are saved;)
  3. God’s words bring judgment. ~Ecclesiastes 12:14 For God shall bring every work into judgment, with every secret thing, whether it be good, or whether it be evil.
  4. God’s words are not to be taken lightly. ~Galatians 6:7-8 Be not deceived; God is not mocked: for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap. 8 For he that soweth to his flesh shall of the flesh reap corruption; but he that soweth to the Spirit shall of the Spirit reap life everlasting. )
  5. God’s words bring comfort. ~Matthew 11:28-30 Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.
  6. God’s words bring song. ~Psalm 42:8 Yet the Lord will command his lovingkindness in the daytime, and in the night his song shall be with me, and my prayer unto the God of my life.
  7. God’s words are ever present. ~Psalm 119:11 Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.

Is it any wonder that it is called the “living word of God”?  Here are seven perfect reasons why we should love the word of God!  Would you not absolutely cherish a love letter you received (and, yes, even all the letters) from the love of your life?  Would you not read them over and over searching for something you may have possibly missed at the last reading?  You would hold that letter near to your heart – it would be a treasure to you.

How much more the words of God, dear friend?  God’s love letters to us are contained in one book, our Holy Bible!  The Holy Spirit desires to teach us and reveal to us what we need each and every day.  Glory!

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

