Reflections in Psalms – Day 51 – Crying Out


~Psalm 119:25-32

DALETH
25 My soul cleaveth unto the dust: quicken thou me according to thy word.
26 I have declared my ways, and thou heardest me: teach me thy statutes.
27 Make me to understand the way of thy precepts: so shall I talk of thy wondrous works.
28 My soul melteth for heaviness: strengthen thou me according unto thy word.
29 Remove from me the way of lying: and grant me thy law graciously.
30 I have chosen the way of truth: thy judgments have I laid before me.
31 I have stuck unto thy testimonies: O Lord, put me not to shame.
32 I will run the way of thy commandments, when thou shalt enlarge my heart.

Journaling:

1. Find all the things the Bible will do for you
2. Find the things you are suppose to do with your Bible
3. Find the things the Bible is likened to

Where do we turn when we are at our wits end? What do we do when our spiritual life seems as dry as the desert? The Psalmist, again, has the answer! I can see him in my mind’s eye now, telling the Lord how barren his heart is and asking God to make him alive through His word (Psalm 119:25)!  It’s like needing a spiritual defibrillator to make you spiritually alive so you can “hear” God’s word!

I especially love the next verse, Psalm 119:26. Talk to God and tell Him what you are going through and acknowledge your situation to Him. This verse clearly says that He hears you! Praise the Lord! We have access to our Heavenly Father at any time we want because of what Christ did on the cross! The believer is made alive through the new birth and all obstacles which prevented us from entering into one-on-one dialogue with our Heavenly Father were removed! Glory!

~Colossians 2:13-14 And you, being dead in your sins and the uncircumcision of your flesh, hath he quickened together with him, having forgiven you all trespasses; 14 Blotting out the handwriting of ordinances that was against us, which was contrary to us, and took it out of the way, nailing it to his cross;

Furthermore, the Psalmist asks God to teach him His word and to help him to understand His way (Psalm 119:25-26). As a result of sitting at the Master’s feet, he will share God’s wondrous works with others. What a great verse to encourage us to share what we learn with one another!

Because the Holy Spirit wrote the Bible, He can teach us and reveal to us what we should know! We don’t need a priest to interpret His word if we are a born again child of the King. Why would God give His word to the world to point them to salvation if they can’t understand what it says? Why a cruel God that would be indeed!

~2 Peter 1:21 For the prophecy came not in old time by the will of man: but holy men of God spake as they were moved by the Holy Ghost.

The Psalmist knew who to ask and what to ask for (Psalm 119:27), didn’t he? The Holy Spirit will teach us, show us and guide us through His word. With God showing us the way, we do not need to worry about our path as it will always be truth (Psalm 119:30)!! As we heed His word, our hearts are convicted and taught the way we should go. Praise the Lord for this Psalm! We can see how important God’s words were to this Psalmist and so should it be for us!

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflections in Psalms – Day 51 – Crying Out

  1. Vicky Albert says:

    “My soul melteth for heaviness: strengthen thou me according unto thy word.” This verse especially spoke to my heart. I have often, in battling ill health, been at a place where “my soul melteth for heaviness” as the trials that accompany Fibromyalgia can be debilitating. I love the second part of this scripture…..God’s Word WILL strengthen the believer no matter what circumstance he/she is facing. That’s a promise!! We are most BLESSED.

    Amen & Amen!!

Leave a Reply

