Reflections in Psalms – Day 50 – Great Love


Psalm 119:17-24

GIMEL
17 Deal bountifully with thy servant, that I may live, and keep thy word.
18 Open thou mine eyes, that I may behold wondrous things out of thy law.
19 I am a stranger in the earth: hide not thy commandments from me.
20 My soul breaketh for the longing that it hath unto thy judgments at all times.
21 Thou hast rebuked the proud that are cursed, which do err from thy commandments.
22 Remove from me reproach and contempt; for I have kept thy testimonies.
23 Princes also did sit and speak against me: but thy servant did meditate in thy statutes.
24 Thy testimonies also are my delight and my counsellors.

Journaling:

1. Find all the things the Bible will do for you
2. Find the things you are suppose to do with your Bible
3. Find the things the Bible is likened to

It seems to me that after meditating in the word of God (from yesterday’s post), the Holy Spirit’s convicting power has worked on the heart and the sinner realizes the gravity of his sin and repentance is wrought in the heart (Psalm 119:17-22).

There are so many verses dealing with repentance. I’ll list a number of them here but take a moment to move your curser back and forth on the Bible reference and read each one:

Matthew 3:2, Matthew 4:17, Mark 1:4, Mark 1:15, Mark 2:17, Mark 6:12, Luke 5:32, Luke 10:13, Luke 13:3, Luke 15:7, Luke 18:13-14, Luke 24:47, Acts 2:38, Acts 3:19, Acts 5:31, Acts 8:22, Acts 17:30, Acts 20:21, Acts 26:20, Romans 2:4, Romans 14:11, 2 Corinthians 7:9-11, Hebrews 6:1, James 4:8-10, 1 Peter 2:25, 1 and John 1:9

The Psalmist closes this third Hebrew alphabet with meditation once more. As a result of a repentant heart, a heart that has dwelled long and hard on God’s convicting words, the reader takes delight in it and acknowledges that the word of God is his “counsellor”! That speaks volumes, doesn’t it? Where do you go when you need advice or counsel on a situation in your life? Do you go to your spouse, a friend, your Pastor? The Psalmist said it right, “Thy testimonies also are my delight and my counsellors.”

Everything we need in life are in our blessed instruction manual, the Bible! Who better than our Creator to give us counsel? He knows us better than our own parents or spouse!  Meditate on the following verses.  This passage is such a blessing as it comforts the child of God and shows him that he is so loved by his Creator!  How blessed we are!

~Psalm 139:1-18

To the chief Musician, A Psalm of David.
1 O Lord, thou hast searched me, and known me. 2 Thou knowest my downsitting and mine uprising, thou understandest my thought afar off. 3 Thou compassest my path and my lying down, and art acquainted with all my ways. 4 For there is not a word in my tongue, but, lo, O Lord, thou knowest it altogether. 5 Thou hast beset me behind and before, and laid thine hand upon me. 6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high, I cannot attain unto it. 7 Whither shall I go from thy spirit? or whither shall I flee from thy presence? 8 If I ascend up into heaven, thou art there: if I make my bed in hell, behold, thou art there. 9 If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea; 10 Even there shall thy hand lead me, and thy right hand shall hold me. 11 If I say, Surely the darkness shall cover me; even the night shall be light about me. 12 Yea, the darkness hideth not from thee; but the night shineth as the day: the darkness and the light are both alike to thee. 13 For thou hast possessed my reins: thou hast covered me in my mother’s womb. 14 I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well. 15 My substance was not hid from thee, when I was made in secret, and curiously wrought in the lowest parts of the earth. 16 Thine eyes did see my substance, yet being unperfect; and in thy book all my members were written, which in continuance were fashioned, when as yet there was none of them. 17 How precious also are thy thoughts unto me, O God! how great is the sum of them! 18 If I should count them, they are more in number than the sand: when I awake, I am still with thee.

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflections in Psalms – Day 50 – Great Love

  1. Vicky Albert says:

    Thank you LORD for Thy precious WORD which leads us and guides us!!

    “The Bible is a brilliant lamp,
    Given to light up our way,
    To show our feet the way to tread,
    To turn darkness into day.

    To teach to us the Father’s love,
    And the Evil One’s cruel hate,
    To show the path round many snares,
    The way to the pearly gate.

    Given to all who truly seek,
    For wisdom, meaning and love,
    Instruction in life’s mysteries,
    The way to Heaven above.

    And once you grasp the lamp, do not
    Hoard that brilliant, precious light,
    But share with all the radiant beam,
    And watch it conquer the night.”

Leave a Reply

