Reflections in Psalms – Day 37 – Bless the Lord


Psalm 103

A Psalm of David. 1 Bless the Lord, O my soul: and all that is within me, bless his holy name. 2 Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits: 3 Who forgiveth all thine iniquities; who healeth all thy diseases; 4 Who redeemeth thy life from destruction; who crowneth thee with lovingkindness and tender mercies; 5 Who satisfieth thy mouth with good things; so that thy youth is renewed like the eagle’s. 6 The Lord executeth righteousness and judgment for all that are oppressed. 7 He made known his ways unto Moses, his acts unto the children of Israel. 8 The Lord is merciful and gracious, slow to anger, and plenteous in mercy. 9 He will not always chide: neither will he keep his anger for ever. 10 He hath not dealt with us after our sins; nor rewarded us according to our iniquities. 11 For as the heaven is high above the earth, so great is his mercy toward them that fear him. 12 As far as the east is from the west, so far hath he removed our transgressions from us. 13 Like as a father pitieth his children, so the Lord pitieth them that fear him. 14 For he knoweth our frame; he remembereth that we are dust. 15 As for man, his days are as grass: as a flower of the field, so he flourisheth. 16 For the wind passeth over it, and it is gone; and the place thereof shall know it no more. 17 But the mercy of the Lord is from everlasting to everlasting upon them that fear him, and his righteousness unto children’s children; 18 To such as keep his covenant, and to those that remember his commandments to do them. 19 The Lord hath prepared his throne in the heavens; and his kingdom ruleth over all. 20 Bless the Lord, ye his angels, that excel in strength, that do his commandments, hearkening unto the voice of his word. 21 Bless ye the Lord, all ye his hosts; ye ministers of his, that do his pleasure. 22 Bless the Lord, all his works in all places of his dominion: bless the Lord, O my soul.

Before I get into today’s Psalm, I wanted to share a verse with you. This verse applies only to born-again believers.

~1 Peter 1:4-5 To an inheritance incorruptible, and undefiled, and that fadeth not away, reserved in heaven for you, 5 Who are kept by the power of God through faith unto salvation ready to be revealed in the last time.

I’m so thankful that my eternal salvation is not dependent on anything that I do or don’t do. My inheritance is secure because God’s power keeps it secure. My salvation is incorruptible – it is undefiled! There is nothing good in me except for what Christ has done for me. My righteousness is disgusting in God’s eyes.

~Isaiah 64:6 But we are all as an unclean thing, and all our righteousnesses are as filthy rags; and we all do fade as a leaf; and our iniquities, like the wind, have taken us away.

Even on my best day, I am compared to filthy rags. These rags were those left on a post outside a city which lepers would use to wipe the ooze from their leprous skin! That’s pretty disgusting, isn’t it? That’s how God views our putrid sin! When a Christian gets a hold of this concept, he realizes all the more how precious his salvation is! Thank You, Lord Jesus, for taking my place on the cross as I certainly deserve it! Thank You, Lord Jesus, for paying the price for my putrid sin so I can have salvation, an inheritance which is incorruptible and undefiled! I’m so grateful! The more I understand how our Father views sin, the more grateful I become.

Is it any wonder that the Psalmist opened today’s Psalm blessing the Lord? We need to the bless the Lord with every breath – with every action. As forgiven children of the King, we need to show Him how grateful we are by representing Him and honoring Him! Verse 2 encourages us to remember His benefits! No matter how hard times get, we should look at our blessings and encourage ourselves in Him! He has not left us destitute! He pities us (verse 13) as an earthly father pities his child. He knows our frame and remembers we are but dust! He will never give us more than we can handle! How encouraging is that?

So sing with me, “Bless the Lord, oh my soul, and all that is within me bless His Holy Name!!” Think on the benefits He has provided for you today! The trials of the day will take a back burner and won’t seem so overwhelming! What a blessed cure for discouragement!

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflections in Psalms – Day 37 – Bless the Lord

  1. Jessica says:

    Enjoyed this – you do so well with these and are so consistant putting them up!

  2. Kate says:

    Thank you, Jessica!!! I wish I could post every day! But time just does not permit itself. I appreciate you visiting and posting! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

