Reflections in Psalms – Day 36 – The Sparrow


Psalm 102

1 Hear my prayer, O Lord, and let my cry come unto thee. 2 Hide not thy face from me in the day when I am in trouble; incline thine ear unto me: in the day when I call answer me speedily. 3 For my days are consumed like smoke, and my bones are burned as an hearth. 4 My heart is smitten, and withered like grass; so that I forget to eat my bread. 5 By reason of the voice of my groaning my bones cleave to my skin. 6 I am like a pelican of the wilderness: I am like an owl of the desert. 7 I watch, and am as a sparrow alone upon the house top. 8 Mine enemies reproach me all the day; and they that are mad against me are sworn against me. 9 For I have eaten ashes like bread, and mingled my drink with weeping, 10 Because of thine indignation and thy wrath: for thou hast lifted me up, and cast me down. 11 My days are like a shadow that declineth; and I am withered like grass. 12 But thou, O Lord, shalt endure for ever; and thy remembrance unto all generations. 13 Thou shalt arise, and have mercy upon Zion: for the time to favour her, yea, the set time, is come. 14 For thy servants take pleasure in her stones, and favour the dust thereof. 15 So the heathen shall fear the name of the Lord, and all the kings of the earth thy glory. 16 When the Lord shall build up Zion, he shall appear in his glory. 17 He will regard the prayer of the destitute, and not despise their prayer. 18 This shall be written for the generation to come: and the people which shall be created shall praise the Lord. 19 For he hath looked down from the height of his sanctuary; from heaven did the Lord behold the earth; 20 To hear the groaning of the prisoner; to loose those that are appointed to death; 21 To declare the name of the Lord in Zion, and his praise in Jerusalem; 22 When the people are gathered together, and the kingdoms, to serve the Lord. 23 He weakened my strength in the way; he shortened my days. 24 I said, O my God, take me not away in the midst of my days: thy years are throughout all generations. 25 Of old hast thou laid the foundation of the earth: and the heavens are the work of thy hands. 26 They shall perish, but thou shalt endure: yea, all of them shall wax old like a garment; as a vesture shalt thou change them, and they shall be changed: 27 But thou art the same, and thy years shall have no end. 28 The children of thy servants shall continue, and their seed shall be established before thee.

Although verses 13 through 28 refer to Zion’s captivity, the first 12 verses spoke to my heart this morning. As you go through a major trial, do you not find yourself praying similar words to God? I know I have! I was especially moved by verse 7.

7 I watch, and am as a sparrow alone upon the house top.

I was reminded of Christ’s words in Luke:

~Luke 12:6-7 Are not five sparrows sold for two farthings, and not one of them is forgotten before God? 7 But even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear not therefore: ye are of more value than many sparrows.

Despite the Psalmist’s feelings of desperation, he knew that God would hear him. Christians today are so blessed because we can turn to God’s Word and our spirits are encouraged. The Psalmist felt all alone, like a sole sparrow sitting on top of a house. Birds normally flock together but this sparrow was all alone. No protection – no companionship – no support. But Christ took time to record in His Word how much our Heavenly Father cares for even the sparrow!

If the Father values the sparrow and provides for its every need, how much more does He care for His children? Can the Creator of the universe provide a job? Can the Great Physician heal your broken body? Can the One who suffered on the cross comfort you during your trial? Of course He can! And He will! We do not have just “a god” in heaven, dear Christian. We have a Father in Heaven who created us and, therefore, knows everything about us! He knows every part of us.  Who better can we turn to? After all, Luke tells us that our Father has the very hairs on our head numbered! Not just a few but all of our hairs! Do you realize how intimate that is? If you are a parent, you can relate to this! Do you have the hairs on your child’s head numbered? Wow!

So when you cry out: “Hear my prayer, O Lord, and let my cry come unto thee. Hide not thy face from me in the day when I am in trouble; incline thine ear unto me: in the day when I call answer me speedily.” you can be certain that your Heavenly Father loves you more than the sparrows and He cares for each detail in your life!

Praise the Lord! We are not left destitute – we are not abandoned. Our Father loves us and hears our every word!

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflections in Psalms – Day 36 – The Sparrow

  1. Vicky Albert says:

    WOW, what a blessing your devotional was to my heart today. AMEN & AMEN!!

Leave a Reply

