Reflections in Psalms – Day 35 – Endings


Psalm 101

A Psalm of David.
1 I will sing of mercy and judgment: unto thee, O Lord, will I sing. 2 I will behave myself wisely in a perfect way. O when wilt thou come unto me? I will walk within my house with a perfect heart. 3 I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes: I hate the work of them that turn aside; it shall not cleave to me. 4 A froward heart shall depart from me: I will not know a wicked person. 5 Whoso privily slandereth his neighbour, him will I cut off: him that hath an high look and a proud heart will not I suffer. 6 Mine eyes shall be upon the faithful of the land, that they may dwell with me: he that walketh in a perfect way, he shall serve me. 7 He that worketh deceit shall not dwell within my house: he that telleth lies shall not tarry in my sight. 8 I will early destroy all the wicked of the land; that I may cut off all wicked doers from the city of the Lord.

History says that this Psalm may have been written by David after he was appointed King. He starts his song by acknowledging two characteristics of God: His mercy and His judgment. David knows that God is merciful but He is also the judge! David commits his reign to the Lord and to be a separated King. We all know that during David’s reign, he was not always separated unto the Lord but yet he still accomplish great things for the Lord!

What I gleaned from today’s Psalm was that David started his position with the best of intentions. He committed his way to the Lord and outlined his plan to God. So where did David go wrong? He allowed the world into his life along the way. David ran well but once the world entered in, trouble followed.

~Galatians 5:7-10 Ye did run well; who did hinder you that ye should not obey the truth? This persuasion cometh not of him that calleth you. A little leaven leaveneth the whole lump.

Many believers start out well but do not end well.  They have good intentions.  Paul had the same problem with the Galatians.  It’s not a new problem at all!  They started their walk enthusiastically but the cares of this world set in, the lust of the eyes leads them down the wrong path and they become consumed with sin. The minute we take our eyes of the Lord and His will for us, our eyes rest on distractions and temptations.  This was not God’s intention at all and it still isn’t.  He wishes for us to be obey the truth – His Word.

Do you find yourself in this situation? It’s not too late to go back to “Start” and begin afresh. Remember, David’s opening verse! I will sing of mercy and judgment! God may have chastised you for your sin, but He is merciful and is ready to help you pick up the pieces and start new! Take that first step and remove the leaven from your life. Dig into the Word – dig your feet into its soil – and let the Word dwell richly in your heart!

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

