Reflections in Psalms – Day 31 – Insignificant


Psalm 139

To the chief Musician, A Psalm of David. 1 O Lord, thou hast searched me, and known me. 2 Thou knowest my downsitting and mine uprising, thou understandest my thought afar off. 3 Thou compassest my path and my lying down, and art acquainted with all my ways. 4 For there is not a word in my tongue, but, lo, O Lord, thou knowest it altogether. 5 Thou hast beset me behind and before, and laid thine hand upon me. 6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high, I cannot attain unto it. 7 Whither shall I go from thy spirit? or whither shall I flee from thy presence? 8 If I ascend up into heaven, thou art there: if I make my bed in hell, behold, thou art there. 9 If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea; 10 Even there shall thy hand lead me, and thy right hand shall hold me. 11 If I say, Surely the darkness shall cover me; even the night shall be light about me. 12 Yea, the darkness hideth not from thee; but the night shineth as the day: the darkness and the light are both alike to thee. 13 For thou hast possessed my reins: thou hast covered me in my mother’s womb. 14 I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well. 15 My substance was not hid from thee, when I was made in secret, and curiously wrought in the lowest parts of the earth. 16 Thine eyes did see my substance, yet being unperfect; and in thy book all my members were written, which in continuance were fashioned, when as yet there was none of them. 17 How precious also are thy thoughts unto me, O God! how great is the sum of them! 18 If I should count them, they are more in number than the sand: when I awake, I am still with thee. 19 Surely thou wilt slay the wicked, O God: depart from me therefore, ye bloody men. 20 For they speak against thee wickedly, and thine enemies take thy name in vain. 21 Do not I hate them, O Lord, that hate thee? and am not I grieved with those that rise up against thee? 22 I hate them with perfect hatred: I count them mine enemies. 23 Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts: 24 And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

Today’s reading is an absolute blessing. When one feels abandoned by God, he can read through this beautiful Psalm and discover for himself just how much God loves us! When you love someone, you learn all about them – you want to know every detail. Wow, think about this … God must love us an awful lot if He knows everything about us – from the moment we step out of bed God knows our thoughts, the words that are about to come out of our mouths and the actions we are about to take!

Nothing is hidden from the Lord! He has known me since I was in my mother’s womb (verse 16). The Hebrew word for unperfect here is “golem.” It means unformed (as in an embryo). God knew me from the beginning … and each member of my body was fashioned with God taking care of each detail. I think about each cell that divides into more cells and producing those cells which go to the brain, to the liver, to the nervous system, to the hair, etc. God stands by and oversees each one and has each hair numbered!

~Matthew 10:30 But the very hairs of your head are all numbered.

On a side note, I can’t read this Psalm without tearing up for all those aborted babies! My word, all of their parts are written in God’s book! Oh the judgment that will take place for those who have taken part in aborting these precious souls!

So as I sat this morning feeling quite insignificant, I am encouraged by today’s reading! I’m not insignificant at all. God knows me inside out! His will for me is always best because He knows me best – better than my own spouse or my own parents! His perfect love cannot mete out anything for me that is not good for me! What a blessing! Leave it to the Lord to encourage His child!

Praise be to my Creator!!! My King of Kings and Lord of Lords! I glorify Thy Name!

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reflections in Psalms – Day 31 – Insignificant

  1. Lori Kranz says:

    Thanks for such a beautiful thought this morning! What a blessing! 😯 :mrgreen:

  2. Vicky Albert says:

    What an awesome GOD we serve!!!

    Psalm 117:1-2
    O praise the Lord, all ye nations: praise him, all ye people. For his merciful kindness is great toward us: and the truth of the Lord endureth for ever. Praise ye the Lord.

Leave a Reply

