Reflections in Psalms – Day 30 – Thought Life


Psalm 89 (1-14)

Maschil of Ethan the Ezrahite. 1 I will sing of the mercies of the Lord for ever: with my mouth will I make known thy faithfulness to all generations. 2 For I have said, Mercy shall be built up for ever: thy faithfulness shalt thou establish in the very heavens. 3 I have made a covenant with my chosen, I have sworn unto David my servant, 4 Thy seed will I establish for ever, and build up thy throne to all generations. Selah. 5 And the heavens shall praise thy wonders, O Lord: thy faithfulness also in the congregation of the saints.
6 For who in the heaven can be compared unto the Lord? who among the sons of the mighty can be likened unto the Lord? 7 God is greatly to be feared in the assembly of the saints, and to be had in reverence of all them that are about him. 8 O Lord God of hosts, who is a strong Lord like unto thee? or to thy faithfulness round about thee? 9 Thou rulest the raging of the sea: when the waves thereof arise, thou stillest them. 10 Thou hast broken Rahab in pieces, as one that is slain; thou hast scattered thine enemies with thy strong arm. 11 The heavens are thine, the earth also is thine: as for the world and the fulness thereof, thou hast founded them. 12 The north and the south thou hast created them: Tabor and Hermon shall rejoice in thy name. 13 Thou hast a mighty arm: strong is thy hand, and high is thy right hand. 14 Justice and judgment are the habitation of thy throne: mercy and truth shall go before thy face.

What a beautiful Psalm to read first thing in the morning! Starting our day rejoicing and praising our Heavenly Father lays the groundwork for the rest of the day, doesn’t it? I love to sing the song with the words from verse 1. It prepares my heart and puts me in the right frame of mind? When I am singing about God’s mercies, I simply cannot run out of material! His mercy for me is so great! My salvation alone is sufficient to sing about until the Lord’s return. However, He did not stop there! On top of my salvation, my Father has showered me with blessings that are so undeserved!

Creation brings forth countless blessings for the child of God. We only have to look around us and keep our ears open and we will see God’s hand! As I sit writing this, I hear the roaring of the ocean in the distance. I hear the birds singing as the day is breaking. As I make my way from the outside of my house to the inside, I see my beloved, a roof over my head and food in my refrigerator. God’s blessings are all around me. I can only see those blessings if my heart has been prepared with praises as the Psalmist teaches. A thankful heart does not have room for complaining, amen?

The Apostle Paul’s encouraging words in Philippians teach us just what our thoughts should consist of:

~Philippians 4:8 Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.

This is a beautiful recipe on keeping our thought life in order! God’s Word is the only thing on this earth that is true, honest, just and pure!  In His Word, we learn from His example in each of these areas.  Aren’t we blessed to have His Word to open every day so we can receive His words for the day?  Many have several Bibles in their home and yet they never open it.

As if the blessings He gives us from His Word aren’t enough, He has given us His lovely creation to enjoy. In every part of creation, we see His hand!  We can start with the beautiful heavens as we gaze into the night sky.  Looking at the variety of shells on the seashore then seeing the countless wildlife in the forest and on the forest floor is mind boggling!  Stepping back from life’s hustle and bustle to look upon God’s handiwork will work on any believer’s heart.

And what good report is not enjoyed by the child of God when he hears of missionaries’ hard work producing fruit! Souls that have been won for the Kingdom are a wonderful report and encourage the believer’s spirit!

Today’s Psalm and verse from Philippians are a sure cure for stinking thinking!  Look around – recognize God’s blessings and rejoice today!

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

