Reflections in Psalms – Day 29 – Joyful Song


Psalm 84

To the chief Musician upon Gittith, A Psalm for the sons of Korah. 1 How amiable are thy tabernacles, O Lord of hosts! 2 My soul longeth, yea, even fainteth for the courts of the Lord: my heart and my flesh crieth out for the living God. 3 Yea, the sparrow hath found an house, and the swallow a nest for herself, where she may lay her young, even thine altars, O Lord of hosts, my King, and my God. 4 Blessed are they that dwell in thy house: they will be still praising thee. Selah. 5 Blessed is the man whose strength is in thee; in whose heart are the ways of them. 6 Who passing through the valley of Baca make it a well; the rain also filleth the pools. 7 They go from strength to strength, every one of them in Zion appeareth before God. 8 O Lord God of hosts, hear my prayer: give ear, O God of Jacob. Selah. 9 Behold, O God our shield, and look upon the face of thine anointed. 10 For a day in thy courts is better than a thousand. I had rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God, than to dwell in the tents of wickedness. 11 For the Lord God is a sun and shield: the Lord will give grace and glory: no good thing will he withhold from them that walk uprightly. 12 O Lord of hosts, blessed is the man that trusteth in thee.

The sons of Korah were the choir in David’s day. Their “specials” were these Psalms. Take a moment and re-read this Psalm. I found this extremely touching! Do I desire to be in God’s courts the way this Psalmist did? I put my name in each verse that “my or I” and I was immediately under conviction. Granted, I enjoy going to church – that is not the point here.

My daily meetings with God are my entrance into His courts. I do not have to go to a tabernacle made with hands because my body is a temple and the Holy Spirit resides within.

~1 Corinthians 6:19 What? know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own.

I am in the presence of God each second of every day! I am not saying that going to church is not necessary because it mostly certain is. What I am saying is that I can daily be in the presence of God in fellowship and worship through reading His Word, meditating upon it, and prayer! As I re-read today’s text and placed my name in all the personal references, my eyes were opened and the Lord taught me. Isn’t that what our daily reading should be … us seeking and God revealing?

What beautiful words of worship to sing to our God in the morning! “My soul longeth, yea, even fainteth for the courts of the Lord: my heart and my flesh crieth out for the living God! O Lord of hosts, my King, and my God. Blessed are they that dwell in thy house: they will be still praising thee. Blessed is the man whose strength is in thee; in whose heart are the ways of them. For a day in thy courts is better than a thousand. I had rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God, than to dwell in the tents of wickedness. O Lord of hosts, blessed is the man that trusteth in thee!”

The heart that thirsts after God with such intensity will be filled with His goodness! God’s pleasure is to bless us – our only task is to seek after Him. The unsaved are not able to do this – the wicked do not seek after the things of God. But to the child of the King, we are able to enter into His courts daily – any time we want! Praise the Lord!

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

