Reflections in Psalms – Day 27 – Meditate


Psalm 71

1 In thee, O Lord, do I put my trust: let me never be put to confusion. 2 Deliver me in thy righteousness, and cause me to escape: incline thine ear unto me, and save me. 3 Be thou my strong habitation, whereunto I may continually resort: thou hast given commandment to save me; for thou art my rock and my fortress. 4 Deliver me, O my God, out of the hand of the wicked, out of the hand of the unrighteous and cruel man. 5 For thou art my hope, O Lord GOD: thou art my trust from my youth. 6 By thee have I been holden up from the womb: thou art he that took me out of my mother’s bowels: my praise shall be continually of thee. 7 I am as a wonder unto many; but thou art my strong refuge. 8 Let my mouth be filled with thy praise and with thy honour all the day. 9 Cast me not off in the time of old age; forsake me not when my strength faileth. 10 For mine enemies speak against me; and they that lay wait for my soul take counsel together, 11 Saying, God hath forsaken him: persecute and take him; for there is none to deliver him. 12 O God, be not far from me: O my God, make haste for my help. 13 Let them be confounded and consumed that are adversaries to my soul; let them be covered with reproach and dishonour that seek my hurt. 14 But I will hope continually, and will yet praise thee more and more. 15 My mouth shall shew forth thy righteousness and thy salvation all the day; for I know not the numbers thereof. 16 I will go in the strength of the Lord GOD: I will make mention of thy righteousness, even of thine only. 17 O God, thou hast taught me from my youth: and hitherto have I declared thy wondrous works. 18 Now also when I am old and grayheaded, O God, forsake me not; until I have shewed thy strength unto this generation, and thy power to every one that is to come. 19 Thy righteousness also, O God, is very high, who hast done great things: O God, who is like unto thee! 20 Thou, which hast shewed me great and sore troubles, shalt quicken me again, and shalt bring me up again from the depths of the earth. 21 Thou shalt increase my greatness, and comfort me on every side. 22 I will also praise thee with the psaltery, even thy truth, O my God: unto thee will I sing with the harp, O thou Holy One of Israel. 23 My lips shall greatly rejoice when I sing unto thee; and my soul, which thou hast redeemed. 24 My tongue also shall talk of thy righteousness all the day long: for they are confounded, for they are brought unto shame, that seek my hurt.

As I read this Psalm this morning, I saw a man who walked with the Lord for many years. David reflected on his walk with God and saw how faithful God had been throughout.  In my research, I discovered the history behind this Psalm revealed David wrote this in his old age when his son, Adonijah, rebelled. Poor David – he reaped a whirlwind in his family because of his sin with Bathsheba, didn’t he? Yes, he repented of his sin but the repercussions of sin are like rippling water when a stone is cast into a calm lake. Yet, despite it all, David saw God’s faithfulness.

David saw the hand of God throughout all his life.   Like the Psalmist, we should have pensive moments like this to reflect on what God has done for us. We humans have a tendency to forget all that God has done for us. Our nature is to complain about the circumstances at hand. But David knew how to remember – he thought on God’s goodness daily.

~Psalm 77:6 I call to remembrance my song in the night: I commune with mine own heart: and my spirit made diligent search.

Meditating on all the twists in life and curve balls that have been thrown my way, I clearly see that the Lord was right there like a faithful Friend! The child of God is not a stranger to God. God knows every detail about us – the very hairs on our head are numbered! We are called His friend!

~James 2:23 And the scripture was fulfilled which saith, Abraham believed God, and it was imputed unto him for righteousness: and he was called the Friend of God.

The Lord may not have resolved my issues immediately, but I believed that He would work through the details – and He did! In fact, He did so with such meticulous love for me! I can praise Him more and more because I can look back and see His faithfulness. Even more so, I can praise Him more because of His mercy and forgiveness for all my sins! Like David, I should lay on my bed in the night time hours and reflect on the day’s blessings. Not only do these reflections strengthen my faith, they give me assurance that the Lord will be just as faithful with whatever lies in my future! What a blessed way to fall asleep!

~Psalm 4:6-8 There be many that say, Who will shew us any good? Lord, lift thou up the light of thy countenance upon us. Thou hast put gladness in my heart, more than in the time that their corn and their wine increased. I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, Lord, only makest me dwell in safety.

Whether you are a new believer or a seasoned believer reading this blog post today, take time to reflect, as David did, and rejoice in God’s faithfulness! Our God does not sleep and is ever vigilant in caring for us. His love never ends and He is ever faithful! As we meditate on His goodness, our doubts and worries are replaced with assuredness. God’s resume in our lives is proof of His ability, His love, and His faithfulness!

Why not encourage a young believer in the Lord today!  Rejoice and praise the Lord your God and share His goodness with them!

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reflections in Psalms – Day 27 – Meditate

  1. Vicky Albert says:

    As I read this Psalm today it brings to light even more how much David loved GOD and how he was able to express that love and devotion as we so evidently see throughout this beautiful book. It is no wonder the scripture says in 1 Samuel and in the book of Acts that he was a man after God’s own heart.

    1 Samuel 13:14; “But now thy kingdom shall not continue: the Lord hath sought him a man after his own heart, and the Lord hath commanded him to be captain over his people, because thou hast not kept that which the Lord commanded thee.”

    Acts 13:22; “And when he had removed him, he raised up unto them David to be their king; to whom also he gave testimony, and said, I have found David the son of Jesse, a man after mine own heart, which shall Fulfil all my will.”

    He brought all his feelings to God—no matter how negative or complaining they may have been—and he knew that his Heavenly Father would hear, understand and deliver him from his troubles and from his enemies. The psalmist teaches us that the most profound prayer of all is a cry for help as we find ourselves overwhelmed by the problems and trials of life and he also teaches us how to humble ourselves and seek forgiveness for our sins. Oh how King David suffered because of his disobedience in committing adultery with Bathsheba. From this we must learn that our sin not only affects us, it affects everyone around us in such a major way. Worst of all it brings shame and reproach to His Holy Name. I love Psalm 51 because it shows that our LORD is a forgiving LORD…..He bestows upon us mercy and grace when we repent of our sin. He once again restores back to us our joy!! Psalm 51:12-13; “Restore unto me the joy of thy salvation; and uphold me with thy free spirit. Then will I teach transgressors thy ways; and sinners shall be converted unto thee.”

    As I meditate upon the blessings of GOD in my life I stand in awe. This hymn comes to mind. It is one of my favorites! It says it all.

    WHY SHOULD HE LOVE ME SO
    Love sent my Saviour to die in my stead;
    Why should He love me so?
    Meekly to Calvary’s cross He was led;
    Why should He love me so?

    Why should He love me so?
    Why should He love me so?
    Why should my Savior to Calvary go?
    Why should He love me so?

    Nails pierced His hands and His feet for my sin;
    Why should He love me so?
    He suffered sore my salvation to win;
    Why should He love me so?

    Refrain

    O how He agonized there in my place;
    Why should He love me so?
    Nothing withholding my sin to efface;
    Why should He love me so?

    Refrain

    Words by Robert Harkness (1880-1961)

    Romans 5:6-11; For when we were yet without strength, in due time Christ died for the ungodly. For scarcely for a righteous man will one die: yet peradventure for a good man some would even dare to die. But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us. Much more then, being now justified by his blood, we shall be saved from wrath through him. For if, when we were enemies, we were reconciled to God by the death of his Son, much more, being reconciled, we shall be saved by his life. And not only so, but we also joy in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, by whom we have now received the atonement.”

    THANKS BE UNTO GOD!!!

  2. Amen! I really like this series you are doing on Psalms, Kate! This was a blessing to me as I read it. (Also reposted over at the KJVDevos site).

Leave a Reply

