Reflections in Psalms – Day 26 – Wronged?


Psalm 62

To the chief Musician, to Jeduthun, A Psalm of David. 1 Truly my soul waiteth upon God: from him cometh my salvation. 2 He only is my rock and my salvation; he is my defence; I shall not be greatly moved. 3 How long will ye imagine mischief against a man? ye shall be slain all of you: as a bowing wall shall ye be, and as a tottering fence. 4 They only consult to cast him down from his excellency: they delight in lies: they bless with their mouth, but they curse inwardly. Selah. 5 My soul, wait thou only upon God; for my expectation is from him. 6 He only is my rock and my salvation: he is my defence; I shall not be moved. 7 In God is my salvation and my glory: the rock of my strength, and my refuge, is in God. 8 Trust in him at all times; ye people, pour out your heart before him: God is a refuge for us. Selah. 9 Surely men of low degree are vanity, and men of high degree are a lie: to be laid in the balance, they are altogether lighter than vanity. 10 Trust not in oppression, and become not vain in robbery: if riches increase, set not your heart upon them. 11 God hath spoken once; twice have I heard this; that power belongeth unto God. 12 Also unto thee, O Lord, belongeth mercy: for thou renderest to every man according to his work.

Today’s Psalm really spoke to my heart. I’ve underlined the verses that especially moved me. The history behind this Psalm repeats itself over and over in people’s lives. Absalom (David’s own son) was speaking lies (gossip) about his father. How hurt David must have been to hear snippets of gossip coming from his own son. David wrote today’s Psalm as this gossip was making its way around his circle of friends, enemies, and his people.

How many times have you been spoken ill of by your own family members just because of your stand for Christ? Better yet, how many times have you been wrongfully spoken of by family members and their statements weren’t even true?

I’ve felt the pain of gossip in my own family as well as horrible accusations of wrong doing by church family which were not even true. How very sad to go through situations like this – the pain at times was overwhelming! What did I do with that pain? Sadly, I did not do as David did.

Ironically, David starts out his Psalm by acknowledging God and the fact that God is his rock, salvation and defense. Notice after that, David said that he “shall not be greatly moved.”  Then he goes to start his list of concerns/complaints. After he does his complaining (verses 3-4), we find the word Selah, which is a pause or a rest. It’s as if David caught himself complaining about his lot in life, stopped to think about his complaining, and then starts to meditate on his God.

The effects of meditation produce praise and worship in the believer’s heart! I loved the fact that after David praised his God, he went from saying that he shall not be greatly moved to “I shall not be moved.” Praising God, worshipping God, and meditating on His goodness puts sets us straight in our thinking. Our stinking thinking becomes assured thinking – resting on God’s abilities and not our own!

When I complain about the circumstances in my life, I’m not edifying myself nor am I edifying the people who are listening. I’m not helping those listening one bit – in fact, I’m affecting their thinking, aren’t I? My stinking thinking wreaks and permeates. You can’t hang around a skunk without eventually smelling like one.

~Ephesians 4:29-30 Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers. And grieve not the holy Spirit of God, whereby ye are sealed unto the day of redemption.

The Lord spoke to my heart today as I was complaining to Him about my circumstances in life at the moment. The Holy Spirit impressed upon me the verse above and that I was grieving Him. I was doubting God with my lack of faith. I was complaining to Him rather than trusting Him. It was time for me to praise, worship and honor Him with my lips and experience my own “Selah”: Stop, rest in Him, and wait.

~Psalms 37:7 Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for him:

While I rest and wait on Him, He will provide the calm assurance that all is well. There can be a storm outside, but I calm seas on the inside!

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflections in Psalms – Day 26 – Wronged?

  1. Vicky Albert says:

    Thank you dear sister for today’s devotional…..such a blessing and encouragement to my heart!!!

Leave a Reply

