Reflections in Psalms – Day 21 – God Thinks Upon Me


Psalm 40

To the chief Musician, A Psalm of David. 1 I waited patiently for the Lord; and he inclined unto me, and heard my cry. 2 He brought me up also out of an horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings. 3 And he hath put a new song in my mouth, even praise unto our God: many shall see it, and fear, and shall trust in the Lord. 4 Blessed is that man that maketh the Lord his trust, and respecteth not the proud, nor such as turn aside to lies. 5 Many, O Lord my God, are thy wonderful works which thou hast done, and thy thoughts which are to us-ward: they cannot be reckoned up in order unto thee: if I would declare and speak of them, they are more than can be numbered. 6 Sacrifice and offering thou didst not desire; mine ears hast thou opened: burnt offering and sin offering hast thou not required. 7 Then said I, Lo, I come: in the volume of the book it is written of me, 8 I delight to do thy will, O my God: yea, thy law is within my heart. 9 I have preached righteousness in the great congregation: lo, I have not refrained my lips, O Lord, thou knowest. 10 I have not hid thy righteousness within my heart; I have declared thy faithfulness and thy salvation: I have not concealed thy lovingkindness and thy truth from the great congregation. 11 Withhold not thou thy tender mercies from me, O Lord: let thy lovingkindness and thy truth continually preserve me. 12 For innumerable evils have compassed me about: mine iniquities have taken hold upon me, so that I am not able to look up; they are more than the hairs of mine head: therefore my heart faileth me. 13 Be pleased, O Lord, to deliver me: O Lord, make haste to help me. 14 Let them be ashamed and confounded together that seek after my soul to destroy it; let them be driven backward and put to shame that wish me evil. 15 Let them be desolate for a reward of their shame that say unto me, Aha, aha. 16 Let all those that seek thee rejoice and be glad in thee: let such as love thy salvation say continually, The Lord be magnified. 17 But I am poor and needy; yet the Lord thinketh upon me: thou art my help and my deliverer; make no tarrying, O my God.

How can one read this Psalm without being moved with David’s love for His God? The entire Psalm is filled with what God’s love has done for David and David’s response to that love! I’m so totally overwhelmed by this communion! Within the verses of this beautiful Psalm, I see the entire plan of salvation blended in with a beautiful relationship with the Father because of His Son:

  • God hears my cries – (a) the one who is sincerely searching for God will be heard by God; (b) the Christian who is pleading with His God will be heard.
  • God brings me up out of the horrible pits (not out of it) – (a) the seed is planted in the unbeliever’s heart and God begins to raise him up; (b) the Christian is not promised that God will take him out of all his troubles but that God will raise him up and encourage him.
  • God places me upon a rock – (a) the unbeliever is now placed on the Rock, Jesus Christ (1 Cor. 10:4); (b) the Christian is lifted up and placed on a solid surface, the Rock! He is not on a slippery surface but on a solid rock!
  • God establishes my goings – (a) the new Christian now has the Holy Spirit who will teach him in all things; (b) the seasoned believer rests upon this knowledge – he knows that God is faithful and will pave the way ahead.
  • God puts a new song in my mouth – (a) the new Christian has a different song to sing – he can rejoice in his salvation; (b) the seasoned Christian can sing new songs during each new trial knowing that His Lord and Saviour is right there!
  • God opens my ears – the believer’s ears are opened to the Word of God and to His preaching through His man. We are His children and we hear Him now that we are saved (John 10:27)
  • God thinks upon me – Just as I think about my children and pray for them, God thinks about me! I am on His mind – in fact, so much so, He died for me!
  • God is my help – There is salvation in no other! God desires to help us find Him. He presents us with ample opportunities to find Him.
  • God is my deliverer – When we find Him, He delivers us through His Son, Jesus Christ! There is no other that can take away our sin! There is no other who has paid the price for our sin! There is no other who can deliver us!

What a blessing I have received today! I’m sure David never dreamed that the words he penned would bless countless believers throughout the ages! Thank You, Lord!

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflections in Psalms – Day 21 – God Thinks Upon Me

  1. Vicky Albert says:

    “Blessed is that man that maketh the Lord his trust, and respecteth not the proud, nor such as turn aside to lies.”

    This verse stood out to me today. As we head into the elections on the 2nd of November and vote, I pray that all of us will think about who we are voting for. How many in Washington trust in the Lord, are humble in spirit and speak truth….far far to few I’m afraid. In reality there is probably just a handful of our elected officials that believe in the Lord Jesus Christ and follow Him. How sad, how devastating that is!!! As a nation we have turned our hearts away from truth and have embraced iniquity in every facet of our society. Children of the most High God…let us pray fervently for our nation as Daniel prayed for the nation of Israel.

    Daniel 9:3-10
    “And I set my face unto the Lord God, to seek by prayer and supplication, with fasting, and sackcloth, and ashes: And I prayed unto the Lord my God, and made my confession, and said, O Lord, the great and dreadful God, keeping the covenant and mercy to them that love him, and to them that keep his commandments; We have sinned, and have committed iniquity, and have done wickedly, and have rebelled, even by departing from thy precepts and from thy judgments: Neither have we hearkened unto thy servants the prophets, which spake in thy name to our kings, our princes, and our fathers, and to all the people of the land. O Lord, righteousness belongeth unto thee, but unto us confusion of faces, as at this day; to the men of Judah, and to the inhabitants of Jerusalem, and unto all Israel, that are near, and that are far off, through all the countries whither thou hast driven them, because of their trespass that they have trespassed against thee. O Lord, to us belongeth confusion of face, to our kings, to our princes, and to our fathers, because we have sinned against thee. To the Lord our God belong mercies and forgivenesses, though we have rebelled against him; Neither have we obeyed the voice of the Lord our God, to walk in his laws, which he set before us by his servants the prophets.”

Leave a Reply

