Reflections in Psalms – Day 20 – Praise


Psalm 33

1 Rejoice in the Lord, O ye righteous: for praise is comely for the upright. 2 Praise the Lord with harp: sing unto him with the psaltery and an instrument of ten strings. 3 Sing unto him a new song; play skilfully with a loud noise. 4 For the word of the Lord is right; and all his works are done in truth. 5 He loveth righteousness and judgment: the earth is full of the goodness of the Lord. 6 By the word of the Lord were the heavens made; and all the host of them by the breath of his mouth. 7 He gathereth the waters of the sea together as an heap: he layeth up the depth in storehouses. 8 Let all the earth fear the Lord: let all the inhabitants of the world stand in awe of him. 9 For he spake, and it was done; he commanded, and it stood fast. 10 The Lord bringeth the counsel of the heathen to nought: he maketh the devices of the people of none effect. 11 The counsel of the Lord standeth for ever, the thoughts of his heart to all generations. 12 Blessed is the nation whose God is the Lord; and the people whom he hath chosen for his own inheritance. 13 The Lord looketh from heaven; he beholdeth all the sons of men. 14 From the place of his habitation he looketh upon all the inhabitants of the earth. 15 He fashioneth their hearts alike; he considereth all their works. 16 There is no king saved by the multitude of an host: a mighty man is not delivered by much strength. 17 An horse is a vain thing for safety: neither shall he deliver any by his great strength. 18 Behold, the eye of the Lord is upon them that fear him, upon them that hope in his mercy; 19 To deliver their soul from death, and to keep them alive in famine. 20 Our soul waiteth for the Lord: he is our help and our shield. 21 For our heart shall rejoice in him, because we have trusted in his holy name. 22 Let thy mercy, O Lord, be upon us, according as we hope in thee.

It’s easy to praise God when things are going well in my life. But what about when things aren’t going so well?  Do my lips sing praises to Him or do I gripe and complain?  Do I call my closest friend and place my burdens upon her?

~James 1:2-3 My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations; Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience.

Paul exhorts me to count it all joy if I go through various trials. The Greek work for temptation here means (prove, trial). Each trial that I go through has a direct affect on my spiritual growth, or it should. It is like a boomerang. My faith in action, as I experience this trial, will come back to me in the form of patience. I will be able to accept future trials without fear but with calm assurance because the Lord has seen me through them!  Our faith is like a muscle in need of exercise.  The more it is exercised, the easier it becomes.

~Romans 5:3-5 And not only so, but we glory in tribulations also: knowing that tribulation worketh patience; And patience, experience; and experience, hope: And hope maketh not ashamed; because the love of God is shed abroad in our hearts by the Holy Ghost which is given unto us.

I now have a calm assurance as I begin a trial – it is a direct product of the hope that is within me toward my God who has never let me down in previous trials. Again, each trial has produced within me an assurance that God would not leave me alone during those trials.

~James 1:12 Blessed is the man that endureth temptation: for when he is tried, he shall receive the crown of life, which the Lord hath promised to them that love him.

James encourages me to continue and endure during these trials. There is a wonderful promise that awaits me when I meet my Heavenly Father! I will receive that crown of life. All of it will be worth it all when we stand before our Lord and Saviour and trials will be no more! Amen?

Some of us have ongoing trials, whether it is our health or finances, etc. But knowing that each situation does not catch God by surprise brings me much comfort. He knows my weaknesses and capabilities, He knows how much I can withstand. He loves me and will never give me more than I can handle. To do otherwise would be the actions of a cruel Father, which He is not. Yes, the Father may allow the trial for my benefit, but He will not allow more into that trial than I can possibly handle.  What a blessing – what comfort – what love!

~1 Corinthians 10:13 There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.

Do you think the Psalmist knew anything about trials? Absolutely! Yet, he could still sing Psalm 33! He rejoiced and glorified his Heavenly Father despite what was happening in his life.

So whether my trial is due to sin in my life (for which I have repented) or a trying of my faith, let my lips rejoice because my Father loves me and He does not sleep!  God’s faithfulness should have me screaming from the mountain top!

To God be the Glory!!!

If the Lord fails me at this time, it will be the first time. – George Muller

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflections in Psalms – Day 20 – Praise

  1. Vicky Albert says:

    Dearest Sister,

    I cannot begin to express the blessings I have received in this current series of devotionals. How I thank God for this verse; I Cor. 10:13!! You reminded me of this scripture often when facing difficult physical trials. It has always brought me much solace and comfort. Praise the Lord for His unending mercy and grace!!

    • Kate says:

      The Christian who is going through severe testing and yet praises the Lord glorifies his/her God is a living testimony of His faithfulness! They are a walking “Bible” and possibly the only Bible unbelievers will ever see. What an awesome responsibility to have amongst unbelievers! You have always been a testimony, Vicky! You may not feel you have been but you have been faithful to those who are watching! God bless you dear sister!!! You are cherished!

Leave a Reply

