Reflections in Psalms – Day 17 – Storms


Psalm 29

A Psalm of David.
1 Give unto the Lord, O ye mighty, give unto the Lord glory and strength. 2 Give unto the Lord the glory due unto his name; worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness. 3 The voice of the Lord is upon the waters: the God of glory thundereth: the Lord is upon many waters. 4 The voice of the Lord is powerful; the voice of the Lord is full of majesty. 5 The voice of the Lord breaketh the cedars; yea, the Lord breaketh the cedars of Lebanon. 6 He maketh them also to skip like a calf; Lebanon and Sirion like a young unicorn. 7 The voice of the Lord divideth the flames of fire. 8 The voice of the Lord shaketh the wilderness; the Lord shaketh the wilderness of Kadesh. 9 The voice of the Lord maketh the hinds to calve, and discovereth the forests: and in his temple doth every one speak of his glory. 10 The Lord sitteth upon the flood; yea, the Lord sitteth King for ever. 11 The Lord will give strength unto his people; the Lord will bless his people with peace.

There are days when I am overwhelmed by life’s storms. Each day flows into the next and I find no reprieve from the trial at hand. Today’s Psalm is such an encouragement to my heart because no matter how tumultuous my storm is, the Creator of all is right there beside me helping me to endure and overcome!

No matter what the trial, my spirit is lifted up when I begin to praise Him! David said that his Lord and Saviour was powerful and full of majesty! This is my Lord and Saviour! This is my Creator, my Shepherd, my God! The all powerful, the Almighty is also the One who has promised to never leave me or forsake me!

~Hebrews 13:5b … for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.

My God is not a man that He should forget about me and abandon me. When the Lord says that He will never leave me or forsake me, He means just that. I am His child now that I am born again. That means that I hold a special position with Him. His precious Son, Jesus Christ, gave His life so that I could have this position! It was a huge price to pay for my salvation. Therefore, I need to encourage myself in the Lord and know that no matter what I am going through, He will be there to help me through this storm.

~Numbers 23:19 God is not a man, that he should lie; neither the son of man, that he should repent: hath he said, and shall he not do it? or hath he spoken, and shall he not make it good?

As I meditate on today’s Psalm, my heart is overwhelmed by God’s power and might. I may feel small and insignificant, but I feel blessed that this same God loves me personally and will lift me up as I walk through this storm! Oh that He finds me praising His name through it all!

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

