Reflections in Psalms – Day 12 – How Long?


Psalm 13

To the chief Musician, A Psalm of David.
1 How long wilt thou forget me, O Lord? for ever? how long wilt thou hide thy face from me? 2 How long shall I take counsel in my soul, having sorrow in my heart daily? how long shall mine enemy be exalted over me? 3 Consider and hear me, O Lord my God: lighten mine eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death; 4 Lest mine enemy say, I have prevailed against him; and those that trouble me rejoice when I am moved. 5 But I have trusted in thy mercy; my heart shall rejoice in thy salvation. 6 I will sing unto the Lord, because he hath dealt bountifully with me.

David was fleeing from Saul when he wrote this Psalm!  I noticed that David pleads with the Lord four times as to how long He would take to deliver him from Saul’s hands. He begs the Lord to hear him and to consider his request. Knowing the history behind the writing, I re-read this Psalm and it meant so much more to me. I can just imagine how David felt. The King that he loved and served had turned on him and was now chasing him down. I can almost feel his desperation. I can sense it in every word.

But then comes verses 5 and 6! In the midst of turmoil a beautiful ray of hope comes piercing through the darkest of cloud. David begins to sing to his God!  This isn’t the only record of Christians singing and rejoicing while they were in trouble.  Paul and Silas were imprisoned and in the middle of the night were found doing the same thing.

~Acts 16:25 And at midnight Paul and Silas prayed, and sang praises unto God: and the prisoners heard them.

What a testimony these great heroes of the faith are to me! I can think of several trials I’ve been through at the beginning of my walk with Christ where I wasn’t such a good testimony at all.  The last thing I wanted to do or ever thought of doing was to sing praises. I can remember crying to God countless times as David did and asking Him how long it would be before He delivered me from my trial. What’s wonderful about this Psalm is that it shows me how human David was.  It also shows me how personal his relationship with God was. David was able to go to his Heavenly Father, like a child, and ask “how long?  The end result is a beautiful depiction of faith. His faith kept him from succumbing to fear and depression – his faith kept him focused on Who was “keeping” him.

I must admit that I have also cried, “Why”? Some of my trials are on-going. God has seen fit to allow them to continue over the 30 years of walking with Him. In His wisdom, He has chosen to keep them in my life. I must remember that God does not think the way I do. He has a reason – He has a plan for me.

~Isaiah 55:8-9 For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.

Who am I to tell the Lord how to work in my life? David felt this way as well. He finishes his Psalm with sweet surrender!

~Romans 11:34 For who hath known the mind of the Lord? or who hath been his counsellor?

God’s people used this Psalm during prolonged illnesses and suffering. I can surely see why! However, instead of singing this Psalm during a prolonged trial, how about singing praises as in verses 5 and 6! How about forgetting about the trouble, however hard that is, and sing praises to the God who is able toI have grown in the Lord and as I have seen how He has never forsaken me, my faith has grown stronger and stronger. I can now sing and praise Him in the midst of trials knowing that the same God who provided for me in the past would do so again. Will I ever ask Him “how long” again? Of course I will. After all, I’m only human. But the Lord knows my weakness and how frail I am.

~Psalm 103:14 For he knoweth our frame; he remembereth that we are dust.

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflections in Psalms – Day 12 – How Long?

  1. Vicky Albert says:

    Your devotional today touched my heart deeply. Oh my, I think of the many times in my walk with the Lord that I have asked Him, “why are You allowing this severe trial in my life?” I think of Job when he spoke in his despair: “Let the day perish wherein I was born, and the night in which it was said, There is a man child conceived.” Yet through it all Job “sinned not, nor charged God foolishly.” Just imagine losing everything and despite of all that this servant of the most High God, though he questioned why, did not curse his Creator.

    All of us, in one form or another, are facing some trial or tribulation. Remember child of God, He is there to help you, guide you and give you strength for the journey. One day we will see our Saviour face to face. It will be worth it all.

    Oft times the day seems long, our trials hard to bear,
    We’re tempted to complain, to murmur and despair;
    But Christ will soon appear to catch His Bride away,
    All tears forever over in God’s eternal day.

    Refrain
    It will be worth it all when we see Jesus,
    Life’s trials will seem so small when we see Christ;
    One gliimpse of His dear face all sorrow will erase,
    So bravely run the race till we see Christ.
    Sometimes the sky looks dark with not a ray of light,
    We’re tossed and driven on , no human help in sight;
    But there is one in heav’n who knows our deepest care,
    Let Jesus solve your problem – just go to Him in pray’r.

    Refrain
    It will be worth it all when we see Jesus,
    Life’s trials will seem so small when we see Christ;
    One gliimpse of His dear face all sorrow will erase,
    So bravely run the race till we see Christ.
    Life’s day will soon be o’er, all storms forever past,
    We’ll cross the great divide, to glory, safe at last;
    We’ll share the joys of heav’n – a harp, a home, a crown,
    The tempter will be banished, we’ll lay our burden down.

    Refrain
    It will be worth it all when we see Jesus,
    Life’s trials will seem so small when we see Christ;
    One gliimpse of His dear face all sorrow will erase,
    So bravely run the race till we see Christ.

Leave a Reply

