Reflections in Psalms – Day 9 – Acceptable


Psalm 19

To the chief Musician, A Psalm of David.
1 The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork. 2 Day unto day uttereth speech, and night unto night sheweth knowledge. 3 There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard. 4 Their line is gone out through all the earth, and their words to the end of the world. In them hath he set a tabernacle for the sun, 5 Which is as a bridegroom coming out of his chamber, and rejoiceth as a strong man to run a race. 6 His going forth is from the end of the heaven, and his circuit unto the ends of it: and there is nothing hid from the heat thereof. 7 The law of the Lord is perfect, converting the soul: the testimony of the Lord is sure, making wise the simple. 8 The statutes of the Lord are right, rejoicing the heart: the commandment of the Lord is pure, enlightening the eyes. 9 The fear of the Lord is clean, enduring for ever: the judgments of the Lord are true and righteous altogether. 10 More to be desired are they than gold, yea, than much fine gold: sweeter also than honey and the honeycomb. 11 Moreover by them is thy servant warned: and in keeping of them there is great reward. 12 Who can understand his errors? cleanse thou me from secret faults. 13 Keep back thy servant also from presumptuous sins; let them not have dominion over me: then shall I be upright, and I shall be innocent from the great transgression. 14 Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O Lord, my strength, and my redeemer.

I absolutely love this Psalm. I start out by being led to look up into the Heavens to see God and His handiwork.  What a beautiful way to prepare the heart – seeing God’s handiwork humbles me.  I am a speck in the vastness of it all!  I’m then led to the Word of God where I can read about His statues, His love, His mercy, His Son, His salvation, His goodness! Lastly I’m led to look inward where I am humbled because of my sin – my heart has been prepared to be molded into His likeness.

Every area of my life revolves around what is acceptable. Just what is acceptable to God? David wanted the words of his mouth and what laid deep within his heart to be acceptable to God! Deep in the dark corners of my heart lies the truth – nothing can be hidden from God. It is there that reveals whether or not I am “right with Him.” My salvation is settled because Christ paid the horrible price of punishment for me. However, am I acceptable to God in my words, whether spoken or unspoken, and my deeds? What is in the heart will come out of the mouth (Matthew 12:34). Therefore, what do I have to offer to God that is acceptable?

~Romans 12:1 I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service.

I can offer God me!  When I submit myself in every way to the Lord, including all that I do and say, I present myself a “living” sacrifice to Him. Paul says this is my “reasonable” service! It is the least I should do for God. After all He has done for me, all I can give Him is a yielded and willing spirit.  My living sacrifice to God can only be achieved if I am yielded to His Holy Spirit. The Lord shows me and convicts me of sin.  I then, in turn, submit to Him and forsake that sin. David spoke of those secret faults. There are things in my life that I hide.  There are even things in my life that I don’t know about yet and the Lord wants to clean that up. Reveal them to me, oh Lord! This word “living” tells me that this is on-going – it’s not in the past (dead) but in the present. It’s continuous! I am to daily offer myself – I am to daily present myself and yield myself! Will I fail?  Yes.  But this “daily” offering means that I can start over each day and allow God to do His work in me.

As my heart is convicted, accepting that conviction with a repentant attitude, I take on the image of Christ. Granted, I cannot ever be perfect, but I can now be used of God!  I now have the sweet words of wisdom and life to share with others!

~Proverbs 10:32 The lips of the righteous know what is acceptable: but the mouth of the wicked speaketh frowardness.

Pro_10:21 The lips of the righteous feed many: but fools die for want of wisdom.

A living sacrifice … that’s what I want to be for you, Lord! Yielded, ready to respond to Your prompting and conviction, and living!

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflections in Psalms – Day 9 – Acceptable

  1. Jerry Bouey says:

    What a tremendous challenge and blessing to read this morning! 🙂

  2. Vicky Albert says:

    What a challenge to my heart this Psalm is! Nothing is hid from GOD, He sees all. He knows every area of my life, every thought, word, and deed. Oh Father, “Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O Lord, my strength, and my redeemer.”

    Thank you precious sister for this series of devotionals from the book of Psalms…..I have no doubt the LORD is using it to speak to many hearts. GOD Bless You!

Leave a Reply

