Reflections in Psalms – Day 8 – Salvation


Psalms 21

~1 To the chief Musician, A Psalm of David. The king shall joy in thy strength, O LORD; and in thy salvation how greatly shall he rejoice! ~2 Thou hast given him his heart’s desire, and hast not withholden the request of his lips. Selah. ~3 For thou preventest him with the blessings of goodness: thou settest a crown of pure gold on his head. ~4 He asked life of thee, and thou gavest it him, even length of days for ever and ever. ~5 His glory is great in thy salvation: honour and majesty hast thou laid upon him. ~6 For thou hast made him most blessed for ever: thou hast made him exceeding glad with thy countenance. ~7 For the king trusteth in the LORD, and through the mercy of the most High he shall not be moved. ~8 Thine hand shall find out all thine enemies: thy right hand shall find out those that hate thee. ~9 Thou shalt make them as a fiery oven in the time of thine anger: the LORD shall swallow them up in his wrath, and the fire shall devour them. ~10 Their fruit shalt thou destroy from the earth, and their seed from among the children of men. ~11 For they intended evil against thee: they imagined a mischievous device, which they are not able to perform. ~12 Therefore shalt thou make them turn their back, when thou shalt make ready thine arrows upon thy strings against the face of them. ~13 Be thou exalted, LORD, in thine own strength: so will we sing and praise thy power.

Salvation is of the Lord, the Bible says. It is His to provide, not for me to work for. I cannot just blab it and grab it as is the popular ‘gospel’ preached from the pulpits today. It is popular teaching but those who grab on to this teaching are lost as lost can be. No where is there preaching on repentance to be found.

Salvation is God’s part but the repentance is my part. I can’t expect to receive salvation if I’m just going to continue living in the same sinful way.

But I digress. Today’s Psalm speaks of salvation and how it belongs to God, not man. Verse 5 says that man’s (King David speaking) glory is in “thy salvation.” I began to meditate on this thought. Searching the Word for other verses dealing with salvation belonging to God was enlightening, to say the least! Let me share my discovery and let’s see if you can receive the same blessing as I.

~Exodus 14:13 And Moses said unto the people, Fear ye not, stand still, and see the salvation of the LORD, which he will shew to you to day: for the Egyptians whom ye have seen to day, ye shall see them again no more for ever.

~2 Chronicles 20:17 Ye shall not need to fight in this battle: set yourselves, stand ye still, and see the salvation of the LORD with you, O Judah and Jerusalem: fear not, nor be dismayed; to morrow go out against them: for the LORD will be with you.

~Psalms 21:1 To the chief Musician, A Psalm of David. The king shall joy in thy strength, O LORD; and in thy salvation how greatly shall he rejoice!

~Psalms 37:39 But the salvation of the righteous is of the LORD: he is their strength in the time of trouble.

~Psalms 68:20 He that is our God is the God of salvation; and unto GOD the Lord belong the issues from death.

~Psalms 69:13 But as for me, my prayer is unto thee, O LORD, in an acceptable time: O God, in the multitude of thy mercy hear me, in the truth of thy salvation.

~Psalms 78:22 Because they believed not in God, and trusted not in his salvation:

~Psalms 98:2 The LORD hath made known his salvation: his righteousness hath he openly shewed in the sight of the heathen.

~Isaiah 52:10 The LORD hath made bare his holy arm in the eyes of all the nations; and all the ends of the earth shall see the salvation of our God.

~Lamentations 3:26 It is good that a man should both hope and quietly wait for the salvation of the LORD.

~Jonah 2:9 But I will sacrifice unto thee with the voice of thanksgiving; I will pay that that I have vowed. Salvation is of the LORD.

~Revelation 19:1 And after these things I heard a great voice of much people in heaven, saying, Alleluia; Salvation, and glory, and honour, and power, unto the Lord our God:

Since salvation belongs to God and He is the provider thereof, it stands to reason that His Son would be the payment for that salvation and His Holy Spirit would the One to woo the lost soul to that salvation through the Word. Once I came to a realization that I needed to be saved or else I would spend eternity in Hell, I knew that there had to be a change. I could no longer live the way I had been living. Today’s gospel does not preach it in this manner. They leave out the repentance and just claim that all I have to do is believe, pray a prayer and I am saved. However, the devils believe but that does not make them saved. What is left out of this equation is repentance.

James 2:19 Thou believest that there is one God; thou doest well: the devils also believe, and tremble.

The devils believe alright, and they tremble.  But does that make them saved?  The Book of James clearly outlines this salvation process in this next verse:

~James 1:21 Wherefore lay apart all filthiness and superfluity of naughtiness, and receive with meekness the engrafted word, which is able to save your souls.

First we are convicted that we are sinners by the wooing of the Holy Spirit.  As a result, we realize we must repent from our filthiness.  Then we receive the Word of God which saves us.  It is the Word of God, that engrafted word, that saves the soul. I realized I was a sinner in need of God’s salvation and I needed to repent!

~Ephesians 1:13 In whom ye also trusted, after that ye heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation: in whom also after that ye believed, ye were sealed with that holy Spirit of promise,

When I had been wooed by the Holy Spirit, my heart became ready to receive that engrafted word of God. I was then ready to hear the Gospel and understand it. The seed of truth took root in my heart and the Holy Spirit convicted me of my sins. It was then I knew that I could not continue to live as I had been living. Repentance was necessary for me to be changed. That seed has to take root in good soil – that prepared heart. Without it, I cannot grow and be changed into the image of Jesus Christ. I would still be that same old image that I was before.  If my heart was not ready to hear, I would not have the desire to repent.  In fact, I would be insulted to hear that I was a “sinner.”

Change can only be wrought if salvation is of the Lord and not of man. God finishes what He starts. He molds us, chastises us, and changes us into His image. God began the work with His salvation through Jesus Christ and will finish the work through His Holy Spirt.

~Hebrews 12:2 Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God.

Jesus Christ – my God, the provider of my salvation, the author and finisher of my faith! Praise be to God!

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

