Reflections in Psalms – Day 4 – Consequences


Psalm 6

To the chief Musician on Neginoth upon Sheminith, A Psalm of David.
1 O Lord, rebuke me not in thine anger, neither chasten me in thy hot displeasure. 2 Have mercy upon me, O Lord; for I am weak: O Lord, heal me; for my bones are vexed. 3 My soul is also sore vexed: but thou, O Lord, how long? 4 Return, O Lord, deliver my soul: oh save me for thy mercies’ sake. 5 For in death there is no remembrance of thee: in the grave who shall give thee thanks? 6 I am weary with my groaning; all the night make I my bed to swim; I water my couch with my tears. 7 Mine eye is consumed because of grief; it waxeth old because of all mine enemies. 8 Depart from me, all ye workers of iniquity; for the Lord hath heard the voice of my weeping. 9 The Lord hath heard my supplication; the Lord will receive my prayer. 10 Let all mine enemies be ashamed and sore vexed: let them return and be ashamed suddenly.

This morning’s Psalm is not only heartwrenching to me but what a beautiful depiction of repentant sinner! This Psalm was written when David had committed adultery with Bathsheba and then had her husband, Uriah, killed! At this point in time, Bathsheba had given birth to the baby but the baby had yet to die. Today’s reading reveals a repentant David who is praying and seeking forgiveness. I think of Psalm 51 as well, another one of David’s beautiful Psalms of repentance.

I picture David on his knees pleading with God to forgive him! I see him crying and torn before his God and pleading to Him to save his son, even if it is the smallest possibility! I know that his son was not spared, yet David accepted God’s judgment and continued on. David truly repented of his sins and turned his life around.

I have been there right along with David. My sins have been forgiven but they also brought repercussions that will never go away. This is not the result of a merciless God, by all means. These repercussions are a result of my rebellion and my sins. God has forgiven me indeed but my sins have brought about an outcome that I cannot change.

Reader, are you wandering today? Maybe you are a woman who, like Bathsheba, has been unfaithful and is now expecting a baby. God has forgiven you but your baby will be a constant reminder of your sin. How about the believer who use to be a thief prior to salvation and in a moment of weakness steals again after salvation? If you are caught, you will suffer the legal ramifications and possibly have a criminal record. That record will follow you all your life and will affect your ability to get loans, jobs, etc. Repentance is a must but the repercussions of your sin will continue. It is no different with David’s situation in today’s text.

I know that my God stands ready to forgive me – He wants to forgive me! However, when I lead my life according to my own worldly desires, I will suffer the consequences as a result. God’s mercy comes shining through when one recognizes His judgment! How can one experience mercy if one doesn’t realize God’s judgment? There is a price to pay for sin for the believer. Yes, our sins are forgiven in a split second and remembered no more. But the results of a moment’s pleasure and weakness may last a lifetime.

Are you wayward today? Have you wandered far from God? Follow David’s footsteps and call on God for forgiveness and restore your fellowship with Him!

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

