We Are Covered!


~Psalms 17:8 Keep me as the apple of the eye, hide me under the shadow of thy wings,

~Psalms 36:7 How excellent is thy lovingkindness, O God! therefore the children of men put their trust under the shadow of thy wings.

~Psalms 57:1 To the chief Musician, Altaschith, Michtam of David, when he fled from Saul in the cave. Be merciful unto me, O God, be merciful unto me: for my soul trusteth in thee: yea, in the shadow of thy wings will I make my refuge, until these calamities be overpast.

~Psalms 61:4 I will abide in thy tabernacle for ever: I will trust in the covert of thy wings. Selah.

~Psalms 63:7 Because thou hast been my help, therefore in the shadow of thy wings will I rejoice.

The best place to be is under God’s covering!! David knew this and spoke about it five different times, and all occurrences are in Psalms in the King James Bible. The number five symbolizes God’s grace in His Word. I found this very interesting indeed!  David truly experienced God’s grace and knew it so much that he wrote about it repeatedly. No wonder he was the apple of God’s eye (Ps. 17:8)!!

It is by God’s grace that we are saved and not by anything we say or do!

~Ephesians 2:8-9 For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast.

God’s grace, just as He provided during the first Passover when the Israelites were trying to leave Egypt, covers us and protects us from eternal damnation in Hell. David placed himself under the covering of God’s wings – God’s protection – because he had been there many times and knew that it was a safe place for him to be. It was the right place for him to be.

David viewed the covering of God’s wings as:

(1) a place to hide from the cares of this world, its sin and its evil (Ps. 17:8).
(2) a place he could trust for protection and he could rely on God’s faithfulness – there’s no shadow of turning with the Lord (Ps. 36:7)
(3) a place where he could take refuge from the calamities around him – he knew he could run to God and be sure that He would give him a refuge where he could renew his spirit – revitalize his spirit – encourage himself in the Lord (Ps. 57:1)
(4) a secure place to be after salvation – knowing that he would abide there forever – he trusted in the fact that only God could provide that covering (Ps. 61:4) and that same covering was secure for all eternity!
(5) a place where he could rejoice because the Lord had helped him through all of his trials and tribulations – David had no doubts that God would continue to do so and, therefore, it brought David great joy and peace knowing he had a place to go  (Ps. 63:7)

I am on shouting ground, dear Christian! I praise the Lord God Almighty for keeping me under His wings, safe and secure for all eternity! Praise His Holy Name!

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We Are Covered!

  1. Vicky Albert says:

    Thank you Heavenly Father that we can rest secure “under the shadow of thy wings.”

    Under His wings I am safely abiding,
    Though the night deepens and tempests are wild,
    Still I can trust Him; I know He will keep me,
    He has redeemed me, and I am His child.

    Refrain

    Under His wings, under His wings,
    Who from His love can sever?
    Under His wings my soul shall abide,
    Safely abide forever.

    Under His wings, what a refuge in sorrow!
    How the heart yearningly turns to His rest!
    Often when earth has no balm for my healing,
    There I find comfort, and there I am blessed.

    Refrain

    Under His wings, oh, what precious enjoyment!
    There will I hide till life’s trials are o’er;
    Sheltered, protected, no evil can harm me,
    Resting in Jesus, I’m safe evermore.

    William O. Cushing / 1896

  2. Jerry Bouey says:

    No wonder you are on shouting ground – this devotional is so encouraging! God bless you for posting this, Sis!

Leave a Reply

