For a Moment…


~2 Corinthians 4:16-18 For which cause we faint not; but though our outward man perish, yet the inward man is renewed day by day. For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory; While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.

I recall hearing a message about what happens to us at the moment of our salvation. At that very moment, we take our first step into eternity with the Lord. Our flesh will fail and eventually die, unless we are part of the blessed who experience the Rapture! Each day, we are blessed with the opportunity to start our walk with the Lord afresh. Our eternal life was purchased with a great price – our Precious Saviour willingly took the punishment for our wickedness. Eternity is already purchased for us but we walk this earth in a sinful body.  Our old man struggles with our new man.  We desperately need to renew ourselves daily.  When we are renewed, we recognize what Christ went through just to give us this blessed opportunity!  As a result, we are able to claim this promise!

~Psalms 103:4 Who redeemeth thy life from destruction; who crowneth thee with lovingkindness and tender mercies;

Christ redeemed us from hell’s eternal destruction and He crowned us with His love and tender mercy! It is by His mercy that we are not consumed by Hell’s fire! I am so thankful that my eternity is not dependent on me for I fail my Lord daily. My heart is filled with remorse each time I fail Him. But I am thankful that the Lord is full of mercy!!! I am reminded that He is faithful and He renews my spirit every day! I have faith that each day He will be there walking with me and helping me through the day’s events – whether they be filled with sorry or joy! I know that my Saviour is filled with compassion and He will restore my weary spirit each day!

~Lamentations 3:21-23 This I recall to my mind, therefore have I hope. It is of the LORD’S mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness.

I can begin each day with peace knowing that even though my body will eventually die, my spirit will be renewed daily because I know what my future holds! My life here is but a vapor in the span of time. However, I glory in the fact that my Saviour will be there throughout my journey and will welcome me when I take that one step through that doorway between life here on earth to eternal life with my Lord!

~Psalms 89:1 Maschil of Ethan the Ezrahite. I will sing of the mercies of the LORD for ever: with my mouth will I make known thy faithfulness to all generations.

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to For a Moment…

  1. Vicky Albert says:

    Thank you precious sister for today’s devotional. It is such a comfort as we reflect upon eternity and what awaits us there. This particular verse speaks to my heart so deeply; “….For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory…”

    As we see the turmoil of this world continuing to abound, look up Christians, our redemption draweth nigh!! We will soon see our loving and merciful Saviour face to face. All of life’s toils and trials will be past……no more sorrow, pain, nor tears. We will be serving the KING of KINGS and LORD of LORDS for all eternity….GLORY!!!!

  2. Kate says:

    Amen and amen, Vicky!!! Thank you for posting!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

