Today – by Martha Snell Nicholson


TODAY

Help me to place in Thy hands today
The thing that my heart most fears—
Tomorrow’s anguish and bitter pain,
Tomorrow’s sorrows and tears;

The long, long years, and the loneliness,
The silence, the vacant chair . . .
The grief of today is enough, dear Lord,
But tomorrow’s I cannot bear!

Ease Thou my burden and lighten my load
Till only today is left.
Soft comes His voice in the hush of my soul,
“O broken heart, and bereft,

“My grace is sufficient for thee today,
Pillow upon My breast
Thy weary head, in My circling arms
Today thou shalt find rest.

“Today I can meet thine every need,
Today My love can fill
The echoing chambers of thine heart.
Then rest thee, and be still.”

Be still and trust . . . tomorrow’s tears
May all be wiped away
By God Himself . . . O grieving heart,
Thy Lord may come today!

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today – by Martha Snell Nicholson

  1. Jerry Bouey says:

    Wow! She certainly has some excellent poems, but this has to be one of the best! Thanks for posting it, Sis! I think I am going to borrow it too… 😉

  2. Vicky Albert says:

    Such beautiful and encouraging words of comfort, rest, and solace…thank you precious sister for posting this poem today. Our LORD’S promises are true; “…Weeping may endure for a night, but joy cometh in the morning.”

Leave a Reply

