Thought for the Day – Day 28 – Keep, Bind, Write


~Proverbs 7:1-3 My son, keep my words, and lay up my commandments with thee. Keep my commandments, and live; and my law as the apple of thine eye. Bind them upon thy fingers, write them upon the table of thine heart.

Keeping the Lord as the center of our lives takes work on our part. Our natural desire is to sin. Therefore, we must replace that desire with God’s Word. We must allow the word of God to touch every area of our heart. Solomon advised his son of this very same thing.

God tells us that His word will give us life! Jesus said:

~John 14:6 Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

God’s word points us to life – God’s word points us to Jesus – God’s word points us to His salvation!

~Acts 4:12 Neither is there salvation in any other: for there is none other name under heaven given among men, whereby we must be saved.

Today’s text points us to the first thing that we must find in God’s word and that is life! After we have found eternal life, God encourages us to keep His word ever present before us. Our eyes read the blessed words and we received life – now we must keep our eyes (the window to our hearts) fixed on His word.

The Lord tells us to bind His word on our fingers. One commentary said that this was to be inscribed on rings to wear on one’s fingers. A ring stays on the hand all day – it goes through each task we do and is ever present in all situations of daily living. So must God’s word play an integral part in our daily lives. Everywhere we go, it should be with us. I think of my wedding ring in this analogy. I rarely take my ring off – only for baking. In fact, I feel as though something is missing when it is off! I get that “feeling” that all is right when I put it back on πŸ™‚ I know that is silly to some of you but have heard other women say the same thing πŸ™‚ How perfect an analogy it is when I compare this to God’s word bound to my fingertips! Something is missing when I do not have it – I get that “feeling” that all is right when I am reading it!

Lastly, the author tells us that we should have God’s word written on our hearts.

~Psalm 119:11 Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.

When we memorize God’s word, we can readily turn to it when we are tempted. We can call upon any portion of Scriptures at any time we need it! As well, we don’t necessarily

Today’s text, therefore, teaches us to keep our eyes focused on God’s word, keep it ever present before us and to hide it in our hearts so we can easily turn to the precious words of our Heavenly Father!

I will close with an excellent quote by Dwight L. Moody:

The Bible will keep you from sin, or sin will keep you from the Bible.

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thought for the Day – Day 28 – Keep, Bind, Write

  1. Vicky Albert says:

    Psalm 119:16-18

    I will delight myself in thy statutes: I will not forget thy word.

    Deal bountifully with thy servant, that I may live, and keep thy word.

    Open thou mine eyes, that I may behold wondrous things out of thy law.

Leave a Reply

