Complaining


~Numbers 11:1a And when the people complained, it displeased the Lord: and the Lord heard it; …

Complaining is a serious matter. Sometimes we do it so flippantly that we do not realize that it is a slap in God’s face when we do so. No matter how bleak our situation, there is something to be thankful for in our lives.

When our eyes get off the Lord and we stop being grateful for what we have, we give way to the lust of the flesh.

~Numbers 11:4-6 And the mixt multitude that was among them fell a lusting: and the children of Israel also wept again, and said, Who shall give us flesh to eat? We remember the fish, which we did eat in Egypt freely; the cucumbers, and the melons, and the leeks, and the onions, and the garlick: But now our soul is dried away: there is nothing at all, beside this manna, before our eyes.

Notice that the people fell to the lust of the flesh and began desiring for what they use to have despite the horrible fact that they were in captivity? That speaks volumes! They didn’t care if their lives were hard as long as their flesh was satisfied! They would rather have the things of the world than the perfect will of God. Their eyes were focused on earthly goods rather than God’s will.

What do we clutch on to in our lives that prevent us from doing God’s will? Is it known sin? Is it earthly possessions? It is a loved one? Nothing is more important than doing God’s will. Once we do His will, all other things fall into place. He promises to provide for us and take care of us. What more can we ask for?

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Complaining

  1. Angela says:

    Thank you, Kate! How true! God’s been working on this with me lately. Sometimes, even good things can become sin, if our focus is off the Lord.

  2. Gary Roberts says:

    Thanks for the post.

    I was reminded how I have wanted to clutch my comfortable Christianity rather than moving out and follow Jesus into the life He has for me. I want to stay enlaved to tradition. It’s funny how we can pretend to be spiritual but we’re only being comfortable and self-centered.

    Gary
    http://garyroberts.wordpress.com/

    • Kate says:

      Hi Gary, thanks for visiting my blog!!! You are so right! It took me years to fully understand that it is God’s grace that we are saved, not anything that I do or could possibly achieve on my own. If I could, then why did our precious Saviour have to die? Why call Him a Saviour if I could add one iota of works to the plan of salvation or “keeping” my salvation! Your point about being comfortable and self-centered is so true!!! Thanks for your input!

  3. Vicky Albert says:

    Thank you dear sister for today’s devotional. It is so easy to fall into the trap of a complaining spirit…an unthankful attitude. I have been there. It is not a pleasant place to be. It damages our testimony, and worst of all, it hurts the name of our Saviour.

    Psalm 42:5 is a verse I have gone to many times when I have felt overwhelmed by the physical trials of Fibromyalgia.

    “Why art thou cast down, O my soul? And why art thou disquieted in me? Hope thou in God: for I shall yet praise him for the help of his countenance.”

    The words to this song have also encouraged me often through the years. May it bless your heart as it has blessed mine.

    When your up against the wall
    And your mountain seems so tall
    And you realize life’s not always fair
    You can run away and hide, let the old man decide
    Or you can change your circumstances with a prayer

    (chorus)
    When everything falls apart, Praise his name
    When you have a broken heart, raise your hands and say
    Lord your all I need, your everything to me and he’ll take the pain away
    When it seems your all alone, Praise his name
    When you feel you cant go on
    Raise your hands and say; Greater is He that is within me
    And you can praise the hurt away, If you’ll just Praise his name.

    Oh you can overcome by the blood of the Lamb
    And by the word of your testimony
    You’ll see the darkness go as your faith begins to grow
    Your not alone so how can you be lonely?
    (repeat chorus)

    (chorus)
    When everything falls apart, Praise his name
    When you have a broken heart, raise your hands and say
    Lord your all I need, your everything to me and he’ll take the pain away
    When it seems your all alone, Praise his name
    When you feel you cant go on
    Raise your hands and say, Greater is He that is within me
    And you can praise the hurt away, If you’ll just Praise his name.

Leave a Reply

