Excellence!


~Psalm 8:9 O LORD our Lord, how excellent is thy name in all the earth!

~Psalm 29:4 The voice of the LORD is powerful; the voice of the LORD is full of majesty.

~Psalm 104:1 Bless the LORD, O my soul. O LORD my God, thou art very great; thou art clothed with honour and majesty.

~Psalm 148:13 Let them praise the name of the LORD: for his name alone is excellent; his glory is above the earth and heaven.

~Psalm 150:2 Praise him for his mighty acts: praise him according to his excellent greatness.

Is it any wonder why the Book of Psalms is such an encouraging book for the Christian? Its pages are filled with glorious descriptions of God. His character is revealed through each verse! This blessed Book prepares our hearts for the day’s challenges.

After reading verses such as these this morning, it causes me to praise my Lord and Saviour for all He has done for me! I did a phrase search in my Bible software for the words “praise him” and found that the only time these two words were found together in the King James Bible were in the Book of Psalms. There are 18 accounts of this phrase and I thought I would share them this morning so you would be able to praise HIM along with me!

~Psalm 22:23 Ye that fear the LORD, praise him; all ye the seed of Jacob, glorify him; and fear him, all ye the seed of Israel.

~Psalm 28:7 The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusted in him, and I am helped: therefore my heart greatly rejoiceth; and with my song will I praise him.

~Psalm 42:5 Why art thou cast down, O my soul? and why art thou disquieted in me? hope thou in God: for I shall yet praise him for the help of his countenance.

~Psalm 42:11 Why art thou cast down, O my soul? and why art thou disquieted within me? hope thou in God: for I shall yet praise him, who is the health of my countenance, and my God.

~Psalm 43:5 Why art thou cast down, O my soul? and why art thou disquieted within me? hope in God: for I shall yet praise him, who is the health of my countenance, and my God.

~Psalm 69:34 Let the heaven and earth praise him, the seas, and every thing that moveth therein.

~Psalm 107:32 Let them exalt him also in the congregation of the people, and praise him in the assembly of the elders.

~Psalm 109:30 I will greatly praise the LORD with my mouth; yea, I will praise him among the multitude.

~Psalm 117:1 O praise the LORD, all ye nations: praise him, all ye people.

~Psalm 135:1 Praise ye the LORD. Praise ye the name of the LORD; praise him, O ye servants of the LORD.

~Psalm 148:1 Praise ye the LORD. Praise ye the LORD from the heavens: praise him in the heights.

~Psalm 148:3 Praise ye him, sun and moon: praise him, all ye stars of light.

~Psalm 148:4 Praise him, ye heavens of heavens, and ye waters that be above the heavens.

~Psalm 150:1 Praise ye the LORD. Praise God in his sanctuary: praise him in the firmament of his power.

~Psalm 150:2 Praise him for his mighty acts: praise him according to his excellent greatness.

~Psalm 150:3 Praise him with the sound of the trumpet: praise him with the psaltery and harp.

~Psalm 150:4 Praise him with the timbrel and dance: praise him with stringed instruments and organs.

~Psalm 150:5 Praise him upon the loud cymbals: praise him upon the high sounding cymbals.

Thank You, my Blessed Redeemer, for all that You did and continue to do for us! We praise Your Holy Name today and lift You above all. May our actions and words reflect this. It does not surprise me, then, to see these beautiful words penned by Fanny Crosby:

Praise Him! Praise Him!

Praise Him! Praise Him! Jesus, our blessèd Redeemer!
Sing, O Earth, His wonderful love proclaim!
Hail Him! hail Him! highest archangels in glory;
Strength and honor give to His holy Name!
Like a shepherd, Jesus will guard His children,
In His arms He carries them all day long:

Refrain

Praise Him! Praise Him!
Tell of His excellent greatness.
Praise Him! Praise Him!
Ever in joyful song!

Praise Him! Praise Him! Jesus, our blessèd Redeemer!
For our sins He suffered, and bled, and died.
He our Rock, our hope of eternal salvation,
Hail Him! hail Him! Jesus the Crucified.
Sound His praises! Jesus who bore our sorrows,
Love unbounded, wonderful, deep and strong.

Refrain

Praise Him! Praise Him! Jesus, our blessèd Redeemer!
Heav’nly portals loud with hosannas ring!
Jesus, Savior, reigneth forever and ever.
Crown Him! Crown Him! Prophet, and Priest, and King!
Christ is coming! over the world victorious,
Pow’r and glory unto the Lord belong.

Refrain

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Excellence!

  1. Sweet Pea says:

    Wonderful!!!! Thank you for using my picture.

  2. Vicky Albert says:

    Thank you Ma Kat for sharing these wonderful and blessed verses of praise!!!

    Rev. 7:12 “Saying, Amen: Blessing, and glory, and wisdom, and thanksgiving, and honour, and power, and might, be unto our God for ever and ever. Amen.”

Leave a Reply

