Day-by-Day – Day 43 – Quiet


101_1426

~Psalm(a) 46:10 Be still, and know that I am God:

Today’s distractions are many.  Between television, radio, i-Pods, and internet, the average Christian is bombarded.  The prayer closet is cluttered.  It no longer is a place where God and His child meet on a regular basis.  We compromise when we think that our reading the Word can take place of this quiet time.  We compromise when we think that doing God’s work is sufficient.  Thinking this way makes us no better than the religious person at this point.  Our motives are all wrong.

God desires to speak to us and show us things in our lives that we cannot even begin to comprehend.

~Jeremiah 33:3  Call unto me, and I will answer thee, and shew thee great and mighty things, which thou knowest not.

Did you notice Jeremiah says that God will show us things we do not know?  Don’t you want to know as much from God as you can?  How can you if you are living with distractions.  Get yourself alone with God.  Find a spot in your home or outside your home that is away from distractions.  I love my ride to work along the beautiful scenic coast of Oregon.  There are many stops along the way that overlook the gorgeous Pacific Ocean and I find this the best place to spend time with the Lord.  Find your “spot” and get alone with God.  Call unto Him as Jeremiah encourages us to do.

I often wonder what I have missed when I have given up that quiet time with the Lord.  I’m sure I will be shedding tears in Heaven when I see what God had prepared to teach me and I ignored Him!

All men’s miseries derive from not being able to sit in a quiet room alone.
Blaise Pascal

The Baptist Muse Topsites The Forums at The Baptist Muse - Independent Fundamental Baptist Articles, Downloads, Forums, Topsites, and Much More! The Fundamental Top 500 The Baptist Top 1000

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day-by-Day – Day 43 – Quiet

  1. You are so right! We are constantly so busy and most of our busyness and distractions are things that we could just walk away from like the TV, Internet, and everything else. Very challenging post. Thank you for it.

Leave a Reply

