Day-by-Day – Day 15 – Fear


101_1383

~Proverbs 14:26 In the fear of the LORD is strong confidence: and his children shall have a place of refuge..

Noah Webster defines fear as:

In good men, the fear of God is a holy awe or reverence of God and his laws, which springs from a just view and real love of the divine character, leading the subjects of it to hate and shun every thing that can offend such a holy being, and inclining them to aim at perfect obedience.

Before salvation, I did not possess this type of fear. I did not consider God in this light because I did not love Him as I should. I did not have a reverence for His laws. I knew they existed but did not feel compelled to obey them.

After salvation, however, the Holy Spirit placed this fear in my heart. Now I strive for perfect obedience. I fail miserably but the key is that I am striving to be obedient. When I do fail, I know:

~1 John 1:7-9 But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship one with another, and the blood of Jesus Christ his Son cleanseth us from all sin. If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us.9) If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

We Christians must simplify our lives or lose untold treasures on earth and in eternity. Modern civilization is so complex as to make the devotional life all but impossible. The need for solitude and quietness was never greater than it is today.
A. W. Tozer

The Baptist Muse Topsites The Forums at The Baptist Muse - Independent Fundamental Baptist Articles, Downloads, Forums, Topsites, and Much More! The Fundamental Top 500 The Baptist Top 1000

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

