Comfort and Encouragement from God’s Word


by: Pastor Mike Walls
Freedom Baptist Church Smithfield, NC

This may be a great comfort for any of you who are facing a problem.

Introduction: Too many times, I preach sermons and not messages. Sermons even though Biblical in nature speaks to the head or the intelligent. A message speaks to the heart and makes it way to the head. We need to hear from the Lord. If we don’t hear from Him, we are hopeless, scared and very alone.

With this thought in mind, let’s let the Word of God be our comfort and encouragement. I have many scriptures to read. I do not have many comments though. Let’s let God’s Word speak to our hearts and make its way to our heads today. Let’s make a journey to the Bible comfort that we all need many times.

Psalm 1:1-3
“Blessed is the man that walketh not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor standeth in the way of sinners, nor sitteth in the seat of the scornful.  But his delight is in the law of the LORD; and in his law doth he meditate day and night. And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth his fruit in his season; his leaf also shall not wither; and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper.”

Psalm 119:1-6
“Blessed are the undefiled in the way, who walk in the law of the LORD.  Blessed are they that keep his testimonies, and that seek him with the whole heart. They also do no iniquity: they walk in his ways. Thou hast commanded us to keep thy precepts diligently. O that my ways were directed to keep thy statutes! Then shall I not be ashamed, when I have respect unto all thy commandments.”

Psalm 119:9-11
“Wherewithal shall a young man cleanse his way? by taking heed thereto according to thy word. With my whole heart have I sought thee: O let me not wander from thy commandments. Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.”

Psalm 119:15-16
“I will meditate in thy precepts, and have respect unto thy ways. I will delight myself in thy statutes: I will not forget thy word.”

Psalm 119:25
“My soul cleaveth unto the dust: quicken thou me according to thy word.”

Psalm 119:28
“My soul melteth for heaviness: strengthen thou me according unto thy word.”

Psalm 119:49-50
“Remember the word unto thy servant, upon which thou hast caused me to hope. This is my comfort in my affliction: for thy word hath quickened me.”

Psalm 119:65
“Thou hast dealt well with thy servant, O LORD, according unto thy word.”

Psalm 119:82
“Mine eyes fail for thy word, saying, When wilt thou comfort me?”

Psalm 119:92
“Unless thy law had been my delights, I should then have perished in mine affliction.”

Psalm 119:105
“Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.”

Psalm 119:114
“Thou art my hiding place and my shield: I hope in thy word.”

Psalm 119:116
“Uphold me according unto thy word, that I may live: and let me not be ashamed of my hope.”

Psalm 119:146-148
“I cried unto thee; save me, and I shall keep thy testimonies. I prevented the dawning of the morning, and cried: I hoped in thy word.  Mine eyes prevent the night watches, that I might meditate in thy word.”

Psalm 119:162
“I rejoice at thy word, as one that findeth great spoil.”

Psalm 119:165
“Great peace have they which love thy law: and nothing shall offend them.”

Isaiah 40:31
“But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.”

Isaiah 41:10-13
“Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness. Behold, all they that were incensed against thee shall be ashamed and confounded: they shall be as nothing; and they that strive with thee shall perish. Thou shalt seek them, and shalt not find them, even them that contended with thee: they that war against thee shall be as nothing, and as a thing of nought. For I the LORD thy God will hold thy right hand, saying unto thee, Fear not; I will help thee.”

Isaiah 43:4
“Since thou wast precious in my sight, thou hast been honourable, and I have loved thee: therefore will I give men for thee, and people for thy life.”

Isaiah 43:25
“I, even I, am he that blotteth out thy transgressions for mine own sake, and will not remember thy sins.”

Isaiah 44:3
“For I will pour water upon him that is thirsty, and floods upon the dry ground: I will pour my spirit upon thy seed, and my blessing upon thine offspring:”

Isaiah 44:21-22
“Remember these, O Jacob and Israel; for thou art my servant: I have formed thee; thou art my servant: O Israel, thou shalt not be forgotten of me. I have blotted out, as a thick cloud, thy transgressions, and, as a cloud, thy sins: return unto me; for I have redeemed thee.”

Isaiah 49:14-16
“But Zion said, The LORD hath forsaken me, and my Lord hath forgotten me.
Can a woman forget her sucking child, that she should not have compassion on the son of her womb? yea, they may forget, yet will I not forget thee.  Behold, I have graven thee upon the palms of my hands; thy walls are continually before me.”

Isaiah 50:7
For the Lord GOD will help me; therefore shall I not be confounded: therefore have I set my face like a flint, and I know that I shall not be ashamed.

Isaiah 51:12-13
“I, even I, am he that comforteth you: who art thou, that thou shouldest be afraid of a man that shall die, and of the son of man which shall be made as grass; And forgettest the LORD thy maker, that hath stretched forth the heavens, and laid the foundations of the earth; and hast feared continually every day because of the fury of the oppressor, as if he were ready to destroy? and where is the fury of the oppressor?”

Isaiah 51:21-23
“Therefore hear now this, thou afflicted, and drunken, but not with wine: Thus saith thy Lord the LORD, and thy God that pleadeth the cause of his people, Behold, I have taken out of thine hand the cup of trembling, even the dregs of the cup of my fury; thou shalt no more drink it again: But I will put it into the hand of them that afflict thee; which have said to thy soul, Bow down, that we may go over: and thou hast laid thy body as the ground, and as the street, to them that went over.”

Isaiah 54:15
“Behold, they shall surely gather together, but not by me: whosoever shall gather together against thee shall fall for thy sake.”

Isaiah 54:17
“No weapon that is formed against thee shall prosper; and every tongue that shall rise against thee in judgment thou shalt condemn. This is the heritage of the servants of the LORD, and their righteousness is of me, saith the LORD.”

I hope these were a blessing to you!!! They surely were to me. Thank you, Pastor Walls!

The Baptist Muse Topsites The Forums at The Baptist Muse - Independent Fundamental Baptist Articles, Downloads, Forums, Topsites, and Much More! The Fundamental Top 500 The Baptist Top 1000

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Inspirational Reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Comfort and Encouragement from God’s Word

  1. Tobitha says:

    Yes, Kate, these were a great blessing to me! I have a question though. Sometimes as I read the Bible and I read a verse where God is talking to Isreal (the Jews) and the thought comes to me that this isn’t for me because I’m not a Jew. For instance, this verse: Isaiah 44:21-22
    “Remember these, O Jacob and Israel; for thou art my servant: I have formed thee; thou art my servant: O Israel, thou shalt not be forgotten of me. I have blotted out, as a thick cloud, thy transgressions, and, as a cloud, thy sins: return unto me; for I have redeemed thee.”
    I know that Satan tries to discourage me at times. So, my question is this…. Where in the Bible does it say that all of the Bible is for me too? I hope this doesn’t seem a silly request because I know that the devil wants me to feel like God’s word isn’t for me. It’s for His people. I am His people. I guess what I’m asking for is scripture that I can meditate on and memorize when Satan tries to discourage me in this area.

    Thanks Kate. You are such a blessing to me!
    Tobitha

    • Kate says:

      The word redeemed means:

      1. To purchase back; to ransom; to liberate or rescue from captivity or bondage, or from any obligation or liability to suffer or to be forfeited, by paying an equivalent; as, to redeem prisoners or captured goods; to redeem a pledge.

      Boaz redeemed Ruth, if you recall. Boaz’s actions were a “type” of Christ, right? Christ redeemed all – both Jew and Gentile. As I see it, this verse is for all of us. When the devil tries to discourage you, research the words in a verse. There are some verses that are quite obvious, as in Levitcal laws. However, some need researching a bit. It won’t take long before you are blessed 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!!!

  2. Tobitha says:

    Thank you Kate. That is a great help to me!

  3. Jerry Bouey says:

    Basically, one good guideline to use is: if it is a physical promise, it is not for me (ie. like the promise of land or that God will give you a baby by this time next year – though there are still principles we can glean here, like God is the one that opens and closes the womb, etc.); however, if it is a spiritual promise (like forgiveness, eternal life, protection, cleansing, etc.), then it is.

    Ephesians 1:3 Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who hath blessed us with all spiritual blessings in heavenly places in Christ:

    Romans 15:4 For whatsoever things were written aforetime were written for our learning, that we through patience and comfort of the scriptures might have hope.

    1 Corinthians 10:11 Now all these things happened unto them for ensamples: and they are written for our admonition, upon whom the ends of the world are come.

    2 Peter 1:3-4 According as his divine power hath given unto us all things that pertain unto life and godliness, through the knowledge of him that hath called us to glory and virtue: Whereby are given unto us exceeding great and precious promises: that by these ye might be partakers of the divine nature, having escaped the corruption that is in the world through lust.

    God gave us the Biblical examples to learn from and the promises to live by. Even if a passage does not directly apply, we can glean principles that do (eg. God is just as faithful towards me, God will meet my needs as I walk with Him as He met so and so’s needs, He wants us to be set apart for Him, etc.).

  4. Tobitha says:

    Bro. Jerry, those are some great verses! Thank you very much for that encouragement 🙂

Leave a Reply

