Thankful am I …


Tuesday was probably one of the most difficult days I had in a long time. These were the last two days I had to spend with our youngest son, a Marine, before his leaving for Okinawa, Japan. We won’t be seeing him for over a year and this good-bye was not going to be an easy one.

As well, my husband is showing signs of wear from the radiation and chemo treatments. I was out running errands for him because he wasn’t up to it after a full day at work as a policeman. Yes, he is still at work! The man absolutely amazes me!! 🙂

As I waited to speak with the pharmacist, I was staring down at my list of things to do. So many of these errands were things that John would normally do. I was beginning to feel overwhelmed as I read through what still needed to be done. I, too, work full time outside the home and was starting on my trip down “Pity Party Lane.” The trip was a short one! My eyes fell upon the drawing of a young woman holding a basket filled with flowers. Written above her were the words:

Thankful am I…

I had to smile. The Lord had just reached down and placed me under the shadow of His wings and comforted me! I immediately began to thank Him for my To Do List! I was so thankful that I was able to run these errands for my beloved because that meant that my beloved was still with me! I openly smiled and my heart began to rejoice!

It is amazing how our vision is skewed when we place our eyes on our own circumstances. But once we begin to be thankful for what we have and count our blessings, we immediately start seeing our lives as the Lord would have us to.

Enter into his gates with thanksgiving, and into his courts with praise: be thankful unto him, and bless his name. ~Psalm 100:4

In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you. ~1 Thessalonians 5:18

I believe that being thankful is a frame of mind. We cannot be thankful in all things if our eyes are fixed on our problems and trials. Instead, we can be thankful if we count the blessings God has given to us. Sometimes we are hit over the head, as I was. Other times, we have to really search for a blessing – but you can be sure there are some to be found. If you can’t find anything to be thankful for, look to the heavens and behold the stars. God gives us blessings in each sunrise and sunset. He gives a symphony of song to the birds for us to hear. He places a wonderful fragrance in the air with each rose that lines the path that we walk. He paints a lovely picture with each waterfall, each mountain, and each blossoming cherry tree.

The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusted in him, and I am helped: therefore my heart greatly rejoiceth; and with my song will I praise him. ~Psalm 28:7

Therefore, thankful am I…

© Kate Plourde 2009

The Baptist Muse Topsites The Forums at The Baptist Muse - Independent Fundamental Baptist Articles, Downloads, Forums, Topsites, and Much More! The Fundamental Top 500 The Baptist Top 1000

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Inspirational Reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

