God’s Presence


Cause me to hear thy lovingkindness in the morning; for in thee do I trust: cause me to know the way wherein I should walk; for I lift up my soul unto thee. ~Psalm 143:8


Arthur Gordon is a favorite writer of mine. Once he came to New York to interview Dr. Blanton, a co-founder of the American Foundation for Religion and Psychiatry. Mr. Gordon sat in a restaurant waiting for the esteemed psychiatrist to arrive. As he waited, his mind went back over his life. By the time Mr. Blanton arrived, Mr. Gordon was sitting there with a frown and a very sad look on his face.

“What’s the matter, Arthur?”

“Oh,” the writer replied, “I’ve just been sitting here thinking about all the ‘ifs’ in my life.”

Dr. Blanton suggested, “Let’s drive over to my office after lunch; I want you to hear something.”

Later in his office, Dr. Blanton put on a tape and said, “I’m going to let you listen to three different people; they’re all patients of mine and they are mentally ill. Listen carefully.”

For one hour the great author listened. When the tape was finished , Dr. Blanton asked, “Tell me what single trait all these people had in common.”

Arthur Gordon thought a moment and then answered, “I can’t think of anything.”

“Then I’ll tell you,” the psychiatrist said. “All of them kept repeating the phrase, ‘If only…if only…if only.’ These words cause mental sickness. They are like poison. These people must learn to say, ‘Next time…next time…next time.’ These words point to the future, to a new day, to healing and health!”

I trust my past to God. My eyes are on the future!

~Author Unknown~

The Baptist Muse Topsites The Forums at The Baptist Muse - Independent Fundamental Baptist Articles, Downloads, Forums, Topsites, and Much More! The Fundamental Top 500 The Baptist Top 1000

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Inspirational Reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

