Nurturing …


Are you the caregiver for a cancer patient? I am. I don’t think anyone knows what the life of a caregiver is like until they go through it themselves.

A caregiver has to drive the cancer patient to appointments and treatments; be there to encourage the patient when he’s down emotionally; provide extra TLC like getting some warm socks because his feet seem to be cold all the time now; be an advocate for the patient when he can’t for himself; be on a constant vigil when he gets up in the middle of the night due to pain.

I could go on and on but I think you get my point. When the patient is your spouse, the emotional strain on the caregiver seems multiplied. Caregivers need to be encouraged, too. They need to be lifted up so that they can continue caring for their spouse. It’s not easy seeing your loved one suffering – in fact, it’s heart-wrenching! There have been quite a few nights where I have shed quiet tears on behalf of my beloved. I know that our Heavenly Father is there and I know that He collects each one of these tears and holds them near to Him. I know this because of the mini miracles I have seen in John’s life. I know that my Father has heard my cries because He has given me this special someone in a dear friend who lives locally. She calls me and emails me almost every day and always has an encouraging word for me! I dare say it would have been a lot harder on me had I not had her precious friendship!

I found this piece today and I thought it was really special. Won’t you encourage a caregiver today? Surely there is a friend or a relative in your life that could use a phone call filled with encouraging words. Won’t you do that for that special someone today?


Plants grow best when we pay attention to them. That means watering, touching them, putting them in places where they will receive good light. They need people around them to notice if they are drooping at the edges or looking particularly happy in the sunlight. The more attention a plant receives, the better it will grow.

We need to be noticed in the same way. If we notice a family member or friend is drooping, perhaps we can pay some special attention to him or her. All of us need someone to care about how we are and to truly listen to us. We can share and double someone’s happiness by noticing and talking about it also. We help the people around us to grow by listening to their droopy edges as well as their bright days. People need this as much as plants need light and water.

~Author Unknown~

The Baptist Muse Topsites The Forums at The Baptist Muse - Independent Fundamental Baptist Articles, Downloads, Forums, Topsites, and Much More! The Fundamental Top 500 The Baptist Top 1000

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Inspirational Reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nurturing …

  1. Thank you, Kate, for posting this.

    To say that what you and your husband are going through together is a challenge would not be the right description. I believe God gives special grace during these times, and your example and testimony proves it.

    Lord bless you both, sis, and please remember: “It is of the LORD’S mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness.” Lamentations 3:22-23.

  2. Sis. Julie says:

    I’m sorry I haven’t been by lately…in a long time I mean. Now that I have my blog list set up with the new gadget the Blogger has it will make it easier to keep up with blogs. It shows the ones that have been updated and I won’t have to go through the entire list to check…which took WAY too long to do. That has really deterred me from checking them. I hate that I let that be the case. Please forgive me. I hope to do better now with this new thing on my blog.

    I know you don’t know but Bro. Tim called us yesterday and told us that his wife Sis. Crystal (she had surgery last week to remove paullops and have a d & c on her uterus) and the results came back she has uterine cancer. Please pray for them. They are devastated!! I know they would appreciate your prayers and any encouragement you might have for them.

    Love you Sis!!

  3. Kate says:

    Thank you, Pastor Mike! I appreciate the words of encouragement!!!

    Sis. Julie, I am so glad that you are back 🙂 I have missed seeing you. I am so sorry to hear about Bro. Tim’s wife. I have added her under the prayer requests on my husband’s cancer blog:

    http://christianswithcancer.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

